current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-06-03 - 10:58 p.m.

Top Five Reasons Ms. Boombastic had an Awesome Day (and yes, I do say "awesome" in that tongue-in-cheek mock eighties way).

5. I am finished grading all papers and work for the seniors and every single one passed my class (although some did not pass the test in the other senior class--but I am crossing my fingers that something will work out).

4. I finished writing all of the cards by 9 PM tonight.

3. I had a meeting with my principal to discuss my evaluation and I got all good scores including more than one "distinguished" (the highest category). He also said some really nice and complimentary things such as how clear it is that I relate to them and treat them fairly, that I really seem to be able to see things through their eyes, that I do a lot for the school, and that I am so clear in instructions and objectives--one of the best communicators on the staff! I felt so good after that.

2. The principal wants me to be on the interview committee for the new English people and wants me to give him my summer schedule.

1. The student I mentioned on Friday, that I gave the most improved award, gave me a present today! She gave me the cutest little stuffed bear and the sweetest card about how she will always remember her favorite teacher and how I have been her teacher, advisor, and friend. I almost cried.

I don't think I could have had a more wonderful day. Tomorrow is the party with the seniors and I have so many snacks for them, and I hope they will like their cards. I love them all, but some are easier to write the cards for than others. Some of them I can't think of a special "moment" we had right off. So a few are a little generic about how much I liked having them in class and all of that. Most had a special "moment" such as, "Keep your feet away from me!" This kid today was trying to touch me with his bare feet, which was the most disgusting thing ever. I hate feet. The more I said so, of course, the more he tried to touch me. It was a nightmare.

This sub who took over the other senior class for the last few months walked by me today toward the end of the day and I said hello and he said, "I hate seniors!" He said it with a straight face like he meant it. I think some of the seniors must be giving him a hard time about grades. At this school, the instant someone doesn't pass everyone knows. So I know the few that didn't. One missed it by very few points, and another was maybe going to be able to retake it. The third, I'm not sure. I guess I'll find out tomorrow. Anyway, I'm glad that I have seniors and I looooooooooooooooooooove them.

Anyway, my neck hurts from writing out so many cards and all of that, so I better get going.

previous - next