current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-06-04 - 8:51 p.m.

I just wanted to write really quickly even though I need to get to bed. I had another really nice day. We had the parties, and the kids actually brought snacks and such. It was just a really relaxed and emotional day with them. I said to the classes at the beginning a brief little speech about how I was happy I had them as students, thought they were a great class, was proud of them. Well, for some reason in fourth period, I almost started crying! It was very embarrassing but I played it off by saying, "Oh, I better stop before I start crying." They thought it was funny. Anyway, I had such a good time and they really seemed to like their cards. Some even hugged me after reading them, and a few girls said what I wrote made them cry. Even more gave me senior pictures today. One was one of my angry-young-men who never, ever will get in the class pictures I take. He always ducks his head out at the last minute, so I have zero pictures of him. So I thought that was nice of him to finally give me a picture, and he wrote an extremely sweet, non-angry-young-man message on it. Also, one of my favorite students (I think I called her Rachel before) also invited me to her graduation party--she is the daughter of one of the teachers and it is at her house. I thought that was very touching.

Overall I am so blessed by having such wonderful students. I can't believe the amount of sweetness I have experienced from them in the past few weeks. I don't remember ever really thanking my teachers or telling them I appreciated them, but these students have shown and told me so much. I am sorry if I sound like I am bragging, but it is truly amazing to me how great they can be! That is part of why I am so glad I ended up here, even if I complain about the town.

Anyway, tomorrow is the senior picnic and I just know they are going to throw me in the lake. I soaked my feet tonight and most of the fake tan is off (the dirty-feet look, at least, is gone). So at least I can wear shorts.

previous - next