current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-06-05 - 5:40 p.m.

I just got home from the senior picnic. I had a good time, but the main drawback was the weather. It was sort of gloomy out, but the kids all went swimming anyway.

The main thing I was wondering was whether or not they would throw me in the water again this year. At one point, a very trustworthy student told me that another teacher wanted me to go help supervise by the water (I was hanging out by the food the whole day). I warily walked nearer, and four of my senior boys (the ones that most wanted to throw me in) ran up to me. But I just said, "Oh, you guys, I really really don't want to get wet. If it was warm, maybe, but I'm already freezing." They all gave me super guilty and disappointed looks and decided not to do it. Another teacher told me a little while later that they said they were going to do it and then I gave them a sad, puppy-dog look and they just couldn't do it. I thought that was really funny.

Anyway, awhile later one of those students was back eating again and he was talking to me. He brought up how I wouldn't go by the water and how they really wanted to get me wet. I said (stupidly), "Well you guys really gave up pretty easily!" I guess he took that as a challenge because soon after all of the boys started running toward me. They started to try to grab me, but I ran away. Then I went on the other side but this huge group of boys was standing in a sort of huddle plotting out how they would get me. I actually thought it was kind of cute how into it they were. I could overhear little snatches of conversation like, "And then she said, 'Well you guys gave up pretty easily!'" Well then I went to get something from my car and they ran up after me and one of my very favorite boys grabbed me and picked up me and started running. We were pretty far from the lake at this point and I said that there was no way he could carry me all the way to the water. Then I noticed that one of the boys was filming the whole thing! I got really embarrassed at that point. Well, this kid must be pretty strong because he carried me all of the way to the lake and dumped me in. All of the other kids cheered. He came up to me after I got out of the water and gave me a hug and said he was sorry. I did have a change of clothes so it was no big deal. It was actually kind of fun. I take it as a compliment that the kids find it so hilarious to see me get dumped in the water.

I think it's nice that they are so into their teachers at this school.

What I am wondering is whether they will put that footage on the senior video (which they show at graduation). Ugh. I would be curious to see it, though.

So anyway, that is my story of getting thrown into the lake. Now that it has happened two years in a row, I think it might become some sort of tradition. Which is annoying, but flattering. I love this school.

I also had a nice time because I drove down one of my students who is in a wheelchair. I had him in class last year, but not this year. We actually managed to keep up the conversation the whole hour and a half each way. He's a really cool kid. It's nice just getting to talk to students one on one like that.

I also had a nice moment because one of my boys said to me, "Thank you for the card and poem yesterday, Ms. Boombastic. That was really nice." Then another one boy said to one of the other teachers, "Yeah, she hand wrote each one of us a card! That shows dedication right there." Yes, I'm gloating again.

I am just feeling so overwhelmed with sadness right now because of the students from this class that I probably won't get to see again. I will see them on graduation day, but they are with their families on that day so you don't really get to talk to them. Some of them are so important to me and I can't imagine not seeing them every day. I know it's part of being a teacher, and I will get new ones that I love just as much, but it is so hard for me to let go. It's also just overwhelming knowing that they are going to start their lives now, and you don't know how they are going to end up. Ironically enough, the one who threw me into the water is probably the one that I will miss the absolute most. That kid is just so special to me. I also will miss the one I called Rachel before, and her best friend. Not to mention this kid who always helps me with computer problems. I really do feel like crying. I am such a sap.

Two more days, and then next week is test review day and finals! Six more school days!

previous - next