current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-05-27 - 5:59 p.m.

"I must, I must, I must increase my bust!" I have that running through my head right now--any guesses what book that's from? Just about any girl who was once a teenager should know that one.

I had an okay weekend. Not as fun as I had hoped, but okay. I went with Justin to his parents' house for the entire weekend. Too much family time, not enough Justin-and-me time. The worst part was when we took a family trip to Mt. St. Helens. I absolutely hate the kind of day trip that Justin's family loves. It's the drive for a really long time, then get out and look around, then drive a bit more, get out and look around, then get back in the car and drive a really long way home. It was just so uninteresting. I like nature and all, but maybe I just don't like that kind of nature. I already know enough about Mt. St. Helens and the whole blowing up, that it was just completely boring to me. I actually get along fairly well with his parents and it's not that awkward anymore, but I'd just rather spend time with Justin than the whole family bunch. I also just always feel like they are so hypocritical when I'm on those trips. They act like they are just this perfect nuclear family when they are completely dysfunctional. I also think they feel sorry for me or something because it is just me and my mom, and that they think I'm jealous of their "real" family or something.

I did get in a little bit of shopping, however, and was able to find two cute new bathing suits. They will look even cuter if I lose five to ten pounds, but I don't feel completely unattractive in them even if I stay the same weight. My stomach looks a little pudgy, and my sides (love handles) look a little flabby, but I can live with that. The way the suits are cut, at least I don't look flat chested and huge on the bottom. I look evened out. One is a tankini, which is blue with flowers, and one is a bikini that has cherries on it. I also got some stuff from Old Navy in the mail (including two swimming suits I ended up returning to the store), which was very cute. After all of the shopping, I ended up with two long khaki skirts, and a pair of khaki capris. I was pleased.

The woman that is the other English teacher is going to retire next year as well, which means that I am the only English teacher left. I hope we hire some new and fun people. I probably will be on the hiring committee, unless I am out of town during that time. I'm excited about the idea of new people, and also being the "head" of the English department. I'm hoping to get more collaboration going between us all, and more of a common goal for what we want, and who does what. I'm really hoping that the new teachers won't just get transferred from another school, and they will actually be new. Hopefully they will also be female and my age and my new best friends. :)

I also got an extra $300.00 this month because of all of my extra work I've been doing, so that was nice. I am putting it towards my trips. I also heard about this retirement thing that you can put money into each month, so I'm thinking about starting that. With all of the money I spend on junk each month, if I put $100.00 of it into this fund, I would end up with $1,000,000 when I retire. That's what they said. Who knows how much that money will be worth when I retire, but it is better than just depending on the state employee retirement thing, which may not even be in place by that time. So I want to look into it and see how hard it is to get signed up.

Well, nothing more to say. Three weeks until school gets out, a week and a half until seniors get out of here. I'm really looking forward to summer, especially now that I have a few new cute clothes and bathing suits!

previous - next