current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-05-23 - 9:42 p.m.

I have been having major writer's block lately. I just feel like my life is so uninteresting. Anyway, yesterday I went to bed at a reasonably early time, which was nice. I fell asleep reading Glamour. I have a new outlook on Glamour and Cosmo right now. Previously, I pointed at these magazines as being very bad for me, but something I really enjoyed. I also felt they were too fluffy and fun. However, instead I am choosing to see things more positively--they are providing women with information about their bodies, as well as health concerns and issues affecting women around the world (Glamour more than Cosmo). I do think they need many changes, but as pointed out by the Manifesta book I've been reading, there aren't really many alternatives. I love Jane but it has some of it's own issues. I don't like Bust because, honestly, I think they talk about sex toys too much. I don't read Ms. because I always thought of it as an adult women's magazine (but I want to). So anyway...there are some positive things about some of these women's magazines and so I can stop feeling guilty.

I really, really want to see About a Boy. I really loved that book (I even wrote a book review for it for a newsletter I belonged to). I also love Hugh Grant so I know I will love the movie. I want to see this movie so much. It wasn't playing at our movie theater, though, so we saw Spiderman. I just love Kirsten Dunst so much, as you know. I was sort of thinking of cutting my hair like her hair in the movie. I'm so bored of my hair. It's long, all one length, just sort of hangs there.

I'm back to enjoying the seniors. I wasn't really not enjoying them, but they are so ready to be out it's not funny. However, they seem to have gotten more joyful, rather than just grumpy and apathetic. They are off task, but they're having a grand time. It's infectious, I'm sorry to say, and I seem to be enabling it. They've been getting their work in, though, so everything seems okay. I just love them so much sometimes. I'm collecting tons of their senior pictures from them, which is always nice, because they write some nice things to me and I just love adding them to my wall of pictures. We are also having a party on the last day in all of my senior classes. I love parties.

I'm feeling good because tomorrow is inservice day. Don't ask me what we're doing, but it's nice having a free evening where I don't go over what I'm going to say the next day in my head. Where I don't have to plan anything, or worry about copies, or any of that stuff. We also have Monday completely off for the holiday. I am going to spend it with Justin.

I was so good about exercising last week, then this week I just went completely downhill. I also ate badly. I don't know what is wrong with me. I have been eating fairly healthy lunches, but then today we had another dreaded potluck. The food is so good and so bad for you, and I can't resist. I tried on my two bathing suits and had a wakeup call, so I did my new yoga/pilates tape. It is interesting, as I have never done yoga or pilates. I kind of enjoyed it and was especially intrigued by this new situp technique that worked the entire ab area, and you could feel it instantly. I think I will be doing that one now instead of the crunches. It will be a nice alternative. I don't think it's a "workout" because it is more stretching and spot techniques, but I think it will be cool on days when I want a more relaxing exercise time. We'll see. The woman, Denise Austin, was the most annoying woman I have ever met in an exercise video in my life.

We are almost set for our Hawaii vacation. I am so excited (however I am worried about the prices). I think it will be nice, plus I will be flying to San Fran. to fly with Cassandra and so I will have some San Fran. time, too. I love the Bay Area, too, so it will be nice.

I finally thought of a good graduation gift for Cassandra. I'm going to get her a beachbag for Hawaii with things like "cheesy beach book to read" and a Powerpuff Girls beach towel (hopefully I can find one!). Hopefully this will work out the way I want it to.

I really enjoyed the last episode of Felicity last night, although it was depressing to see it end. The funniest part was the montage of "Hey's" that WB did to say thank you to Felicity for four years of fun. I loved it. I am sort of glad that Felicity ended up with Ben. I thought it was very sweet. I also enjoyed seeing the old clips, and I am glad to hear that WE channel will be showing reruns of the show in the fall. I also really enjoyed the music, especially the song by Ben Folds. So overall it was a good episode. I hope Keri Russell has good things happen for her career because I love her now. I used to have this thing with the show that I had with Ally McBeal, where I liked the show and cast, except for the main character. But somehow Felicity and all her earnestness grew on me. It also helped that she cheated on Ben with Noel. I still can't stand the whole "tapes to Sally" thing, though. It's cool, but it totally embarrasses me.

I'm going to get off now, I basically just wanted to update before I left for my weekend of fun.

previous - next