current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-05-28 - 7:52 p.m.

I had a nice thing happen to me today. This kid is leaving early so he can go to his father's house for the summer, so he had been asking me about taking the final early. Anyway, I totally spaced it (and was thinking all along that I would just tell him I'd grade him on the work he had up to this point), and today he came up to me in the library and reminded me it was his last day. So I told him we would just do it based on the work he'd done so far. Well seventh period rolled around and he came in with a diet pepsi from the pop machine and handed it to me. "What's this for?!" I asked with confusion. He just said, "I don't know," and smiled. The other kids joked it was for extra credit. But I just thought that was such a sweet gesture that A) He bought me a pop for no reason and B) He knew I was a diet pepsi drinker. He's just a super nice kid in general.

The other diet pepsi related incident involved fifth period. They were trying to convince me to give up diet pepsi and start drinking more healthy drinks (because they "care about me" and believe diet pepsi is terrible for me). They challenged me to stop drinking it for the next five days (the amount of days they have left, basically). I said no, but then I said that I would if Mr. Other-Senior-Teacher would. He is a case-a-day diet pepsi drinker. Well, they gave up at that point. I was actually thinking of taking up their challenge, but then I realized I will be a mess if I do that. :)

Other than that, everything went well today (other than Julius Caesar boredom.) The sophomores are surprisingly not complaining much, but I can feel it in the energy in the room. I actually like the play alright, even though it is the most hated Shakespeare play for English teachers.

I have been listening to Alanis Moirsette a lot lately and I love #5. It's called something like "Unsexy." My favorite line is, "I'm thirteen again, am I thirteen for good?" I just love that line so much. I probably mentioned it before.

I won't be seeing Justin this weekend because he is going to Portland again, and I'm really not in the mood (also he didn't invite me). I have to stay around here anyway for the senior awards night. I also need to get going on the cards/poems for the seniors. I have more of them this year, so it will probably take me awhile. I bought the cards today at Wal-mart.

I just feel like curling up with a cup of tea. I bought some orange spice tea today, which I love. I am this crazy tea person who has a million flavors. I barely ever remember to make it, but I really love it. I also love hot chocolate with marshmallows or cool whip.

I realized that I made a mistake in my checkbook that meant I had $200.00 more than I thought. I am such a dork sometimes, but at least the mistake was in my favor. I was thinking how sad it was that I had to last the rest of the month on so little money, and I just got paid on Friday.

Not much else to say. I'm reading Interview with the Vampire right now. It is totally not my type of book, but I've been strangely intrigued by it ever since I saw part of the movie on TV. I am also trying to finish up about twenty other books that I've started, including Midwives because I think it is overdue. I renewed once but I think it is overdue since then.

previous - next