current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-02-20 - 6:08 p.m.

I wrote an entry yesterday. This was the entry of all entries. Man, it had it ALL. It had stuff about books, students, and even a little Justin Timberlake thrown in there. And what happened? It got eaten!

"Alright, new drink. One part alize..."

I've been listening to the best mix CD that I made for Jasmine. It was so good that I made a copy for myself before I sent it to her. This CD has so many good songs on it from our first year of college (1995-1996, if you're keeping track.) I would have to say that 1989-1996 are the finest years in hip-hop music. It all started to go downhill with the artist formally known as Puff Daddy.

She really loved the CD because I made notes for her about what each song reminded me of from college and our various visits. We have a ton of memories together, even though we were only roommates the one year. That's part of why I made the decision not to let go of our friendship, even though she can sometimes be a "toxic friend" as Stephen from The Real World might say.

I'm going to try to go to the Justin Timberlake concert here in June. I know, I know. We aren't going to go unless we can get really good seats, because there is no point in going if we can't be close to Justin. I asked Elizabeth if she wanted to go with me, because she feels the Justin love, too. So hopefully we will be able to get good tickets like we want. I plan to dress hoochie, but not too hoochie. Ha ha. I'm sorry, but everytime I see "Cry Me a River," I am completely unable to turn the channel. I can't help myself. I have to see all of my favorite parts. My first favorite part is when he is making out with the girl and she's all biting on his lip and he's looking at the camera. My second favorite part is when he is walking through the house and he's all, "Oh!" My third favorite part is when he's walking away after he planted the video for the blond to see, and he smiles and sort of wipes at his lip. Okay, enough. I think it's clear that I've got to see him in concert. I am so not excited to see diiiiirty Christina, but I have seen her before and she was actually pretty good.

Everything is all good with the kid I was worried about being mad at me. We talked on Tuesday and everything is all straightened out. He is such a great kid.

I got my second observation out of the way and it was fine. A few things happened that weren't the greatest, but overall things were good. He was very positive about everything. He is such a good principal.

I've been sort of stressed lately. There's something in the air around here. People are really feeling low at school. Morale is low (our pay cut due to days lost has now reached almost 8%) and people are worried about being the ones cut. It's all on seniority, which is how it should be, but I know the newest people are feeling pretty frightened. It's all up in the air, too, because we don't know how many people might retire to try to make out with better retirement packages than they may get in the future. I still am not that worried. We are on a year round contract so I will still be paid until September, so even worst case scenario I will be okay for a little while even if I lose my job.

I have read a few really good books lately. 10th Grade by Joseph Weisberg is a book that is written just like a high school sophomore would write (punctuation errors and all!) and it reminded me sort of of Catcher in the Rye and The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I absolutely love both of those books, so if you haven't read those you better go out and read them right now. Not everyone loves Catcher, but everyone I know who has read Perks loved it. It's a YA novel. I am also currently reading Finding Fish by Antwone Fisher. It is, obviously, the book that the movie Antwone Fisher was based on. It's a great book, and I stayed up way past my bedtime reading last night. I'm so lucky I don't get dark circles under my eyes, because I have not been to bed before 1 AM once this week. Every day I tell myself that I need to take better care of myself, but I never listen.

I have so much work to do this weekend, it's not even funny. I need a snow day or something. I love being randomly mentioned in people's diaries, so I thought I would bust the same kind of move myself.

I wish I hadn't lost that last entry. I'm telling you, that was the best entry, and I'm not just saying that because you will never read it. I was cracking myself up, and that's hard to do. Actually, it's not.

previous - next