current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-05-29 - 9:45 p.m.

It's been a really good week, and there are THREE WEEKS until school is out. Yay. We don't start school until the day after Labor day, which is why we end so late.

Sunday was good. I went to my sister's graduation party, which was fairly awkward, but I was glad I stopped by for a little while. She is so great! I am so glad for her that she graduated college and already has her job all lined up. So impressive, right?

Then I hung out with Jose, and much to my sister's dismay, I am sure, I did not kick him to the curb. I just really like him, and things feel like they are getting better again. We'll see! When I am with him things are so great, and when we are apart we talk on the phone all the time. I guess it's just the wondering about whether he is seeing other people thing that really gets to me. Or, more accurately, wondering if he is ever going to say he just wants to be with me.

The week at school flew by, and we had our big field trip that our kids raised over $1000 dollars for. We had perfect weather (90 degrees), and I was so, so impressed with the kids. I chose a group that we needed to make sure had a teacher chaperone, and I was a little nervous about it. These girls are all about the drama, and then I let this boy who is friends with them join our group, too(and seriously has the mentality and self-control of a 4-year-old). I had SUCH a good time with them! We had so much fun on all the rides, and I confronted my bathing suit fear and just went swimming with them anyway. We only had one minor meltdown when some of them wanted to go in the wave pool and others wanted to go on rides, but they got over it quickly. They were so sweet to me, too, and wanted me to go on all the rides and stuff with them. It was a fabulous day, and that even includes the crazy lengthy bus ride to get there and back. The bus ride was supposed to be about 2 1/2 hours each way, but instead ended up being 3 1/2 hours there and 4 hours back. Yeah, can you imagine being on a bus with 40 13/14-year-olds? BUT THEY WERE WONDERFUL! We only had one minor plastic bag flying out the window incident and that was it. We got back at 8 PM instead of 6:30, but it was well worth it. I am so amazed out how well that field trip went. I was just in love with the kids.

I was a little less in love with the kids on Friday when I realized that a few of them had stolen some candy and pop from me while I was gone (these are the kids who weren't allowed to go on the field trip due to disqualifying for behavior issues). However, one of the girls came forward and admitted she was part of it, and the kids all ratted out on the other girl (culminating in a dramatic locker-full-of-pop incident--before you accuse me of unfair locker search and seizure, the kids all leave their lockers unlocked so they can open them up quickly, and two of my students opened it to show me without any encouragement or prior knowledge on my part). Anyway, the consequences will happen on Tuesday.

I've also been sick ever since Thursday. Summer colds are the worse because it's like, "Why the hell am I sick when it is 90 degrees?" I hate being a snot face.

Friday I hung out with Justin for a little while, and then we got in a big argument, so I just came home and went to bed. I slept from 7:30-7:30, which was crazy.

Since Jose and I made a bet about who would win American Idol, he got to collect on his bet on Saturday. I was so pissed off about Carrie winning. Who voted for her? Everyone I know (except Justin) hates her country singing self. Oh well. But before we went out for his all-expenses paid bar-fest, he called me and said his uncle had invited us to dinner. I was SO nervous about meeting them, but I wore something cute and tried not to be shy. His uncle and aunt ended up being very nice, although they were definitely very rich. We had steak, spinach, shrimp cocktail, strawberries and icecream and three kinds of wine. It was really nice. I was still really nervous while I was there, but they were really sweet to me. I have not really been in a "meet the parents" type situation before, and I wasn't completely sure WHY I was in it, since there still has been no talk of commitment. I do realize that we have been seeing each other since December, and I guess he does talk to them about me, so maybe that's all there is to it. AAAAAAH. Anyway, as far as I could tell they liked me.

After that I was still feeling pretty sick, but I didn't want to back out on the bet. So we went to Kell's. I guess Jose realized that I would have a better time if he drove and didn't drink as much, since I only can drink two drinks total and still drive. He's a big guy, so he can drink more, but he probably still drank more than he should have. It was over the course of a very long night, though, so...I don't know. The scary thing was after we left the first two bars, he got pulled over by a motorcycle cop. The cop said that I had a tail light out, and that he had cut the yellow light a little close. He asked him how long he had been here (he's from Arizona). He said a little while, and then the cop asked if he had been drinking. He said nope, and the cop told him to get the tail light fixed and said to have a good night. Very lucky. I had no idea my tail light was out. He probably would have been fine, anyway, because I had just done a sobriety test on him (obviously not an official one) and he passed it. Still, that was really scary. I've never been pulled over before.

We ended up going to Kell's, Shaghai Tunnel, and ended up at Embers. It's a gay dance club, but lots of straight people go there as well (obviously). Anyway, it was pretty fun. There is something strange about that place because I always seem to have guys hitting on me there. This guy came up and started talking to me while Jose was in the bathroom. I kept thinking he had been gone a really long time, but when I finally started looking around for him he had stopped nearby and was just kind of standing there (he said he didn't want to interrupt the conversation, which I thought was sort of weird). Anyway, this guy was from Ecuador and was talking and talking to me, and he said he was teaching middle school for a while too. It was a completely friendly conversation, but then he was telling me he still loves to teach and wants to teach me Spanish. It was at that point that I said that the guy I was with knows Spanish, too, and that he has taught me some. He was like, "No way, he doesn't speak Spanish!" I said he did and he was like, "I bet you $1000 he doesn't speak Spanish!" We shook on it, and then I looked around and called Jose over. I told Jose what happened and then he started talking to the guy in Spanish. It was pretty funny. The guy was all excited and gave him his business card because he said he doesn't meet Spanish speakers very often. How weird is that? He also was talking to Jose about me in Spanish and asking how he got such a beautiful woman and how he likes my blue eyes. I was flattered and thought it was funny. He totally backed out on his $1000 bet, though. Then Jose went to do something again and the guy continued to talk to me. I guess that he was trying to find out what I like to do so that he could ask me to hang out with him, but I just kept saying that I liked to read and play on the Internet and how boring I am (really true, but I didn't realize he was trying to come up with something to ask me to do). Then he finally said, "Do you like to eat?" I was like, "EVERYONE LOVES EATING!" So he asked me what kind and acted all shocked and excited about how I like Thai food. So he asked me if he could take me out to eat in the next few days. I just said, "You know, I really like that guy I'm with." He was like, "Oh, okay, thank you for being honest. It was nice meeting you." Then he kissed me on the cheek (there was another guy that kissed me on the cheek last time I went to Embers, how weird!) and left. I told Jose about it and he seemed amused by it. I know he gets jealous, but he doesn't seem to get jealous over guys just talking to me. Which is nice. I haven't really experienced other girls trying to hit on him in front of me, so I am not sure how I would react. I would probably be pretty jealous, but the only reason I was talking to the guy was because I thought Jose was taking a long time in the bathroom.

Other than that we had a pretty good time. I sort of danced with him on one song, but I still was not really that drunk. Then we went to his house and I spent the night there for the first time. It was pretty fun. His roommate was still awake, so we were talking to him for a while. I am really starting to like his dog, which is nice.

We woke up this morning and laid around for a while, and then we went to Thai food for lunch. We also went to the park, went to Dairy Queen, and watched a movie. I also took a nap during the movie because I still am feeling sick. I ended up leaving about 8 PM. I feel so comfortable with him and we always make each other laugh so much; I just feel so happy when I am with him. I wish it could always be like this.

I still didn't ask him about why he wanted me to meet his family. His cousin was supposed to have a barbecue tomorrow, and he wanted me to go to that, but it was cancelled. I am kind of relieved, because although I am flattered, meeting new people is kind of stressful for me. He also called me yesterday right before my mom was going to come over to move furniture to her house, and he said that he could have helped with that. When I kind of hesitated over that idea he began joking that I didn't ask him because I don't want him to meet my mom. It's not that I don't want him to, it's that I don't want him to meet her unless I know he's going to be around for awhile. I have not experienced having to introduce a love interest to my mom since I was 17 years old, so the whole idea is foreign to me.

Anyway, hopefully Jose won't pull anymore jerk moves. We'll see. THREE MORE WEEKS UNTIL SCHOOL IS OUT!!!!

previous - next