current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-07 - 5:08 p.m.

I feel a little reassured by the fact that a few other teachers' diaries are spending a lot of time lately saying their kids have gone crazy, too. Mine up and lost their damn minds!

So yesterday I was just thinking how nice writing was working with my freshmen. They were working in partners, having fun, being productive. I love freshmen, I said to myself. Then one accidentally/purposely/accidentally dropped a book out the window! I think what he was trying to do was pull a little prank to make me notice he was about to drop it out the window, because he tends to do weird things like that to get my attention. But then I think his hand slipped, because he was bright red with embarrassment.

Today I kicked two kids out of the room for swearing about grades. Usually I let that kind of thing go if they are just mumbling/venting to themselves, but they were being loud about it and I couldn't let it slide. Both of them also tried to pull the, "I didn't hear you and so I am just going to sit in my desk and pretend you didn't tell me to leave." One of them even mimicked me when I told him to leave. This is a kid who loves me under normal circumstances.

I told my other classes about these unfortunate incidents before giving them their grades, so there were no further problems. I just hate having to kick a kid out of class--it gives me a bad feeling all day.

I organized the first departmental meeting of the year (we never meet as a department). I'm excited by it. I am supposedly the chair of the department, which is a huge joke, but anyway...

I did manage to get my grades in last night by 7 pm, a full hour before I had to be home for American Idol! Working against that for a deadline made me super efficient. I wish it was on every night. If Josh doesn't get kicked off, I will kick my TV in outrage. I have a bad feeling it might be Kim tonight, though. I still want Rueben to win, but if Clay wins I won't feel bad. I like them both.

My tummy hurt all day because I decided to have a thing of candy for lunch. I didn't have any other lunch and I was too lazy to go down and buy something in the cafeteria. I don't know what I was thinking.

My friend wrote me a glowing and wonderful recommendation letter. The only problem is that it sounds a little too glowing. I am almost afraid they will think that I wrote it myself. She has worked with me on committees. So I have to decide if I should use it. I am so impressed by how highly she thinks of me. Of course, she hasn't actually saw me teach, so I feel secretly like, "She wouldn't think I was such a great teacher if she actually saw me!" She bases it all on the way I talk about kids. I do think that is a good indictator of the kind of teacher you are, but it doesn't show it all.

I did get a few nice compliments from kids today and yesterday about how they want me to move up with them next year, and also I should become the drama teacher. I just tell them that they get different things from all teachers and it would be bad to have me two years in a row. I tell them I am not dramatic enough to be the drama teacher. I would hate doing that.

I am showing the movie first with Romeo and Juliet which means that I have to watch it tonight. I have seen it before. I am not showing the one with the boobs, so don't get too excited. I actually think the more recent one is better, anyway.

P.S. I think that is the only time I have said boobs in my entire life. First I said tits, but I thought that was rather uncouth.

previous - next