current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-13 - 7:17 p.m.

I've been majorly unhappy this week. I just keep telling myself that I have to get through this week and make it to the three day weekend. I just feel so completely, utterly overwhelmed with everything. I know that other teachers do this, do extra stuff, and more. Why can't I seem to do it right now? To top it all off, for two of my preps I have to rush through material to squeeze it all in. I feel bad.

I'm just depressed overall. I feel like I can't get through this for some reason. The only positive thing that I can say is that I have exercised the last few days, but now that I've said that I probably won't do it tonight. Once I say it out loud to people it usually stops. Whatever.

I have a big thing tomorrow that I feel totally unprepared for. I am so glad that I have this Friday off. If I didn't have such a short time left, I would totally be taking a mental health day right about now. I don't know why I can't get my act together. Yes, the kids have had something to do in class every day. Yes, they seem to have no clue that I am half-assing my lessons (so what does that say about my lessons when I am really trying?) But I am so behind on grading and everything, and this being the last bit of the year I really need to stay on top of things so they can know how they are doing.

On the bright side, we had a small celebration in my sophomore classes. I brought them a bunch of junk food and we celebrated being done with our standardized tests as of Friday. They tested three times in my class alone this year--a total of 14 days, and I had to give it up to them. They took the tests without whining, were mostly quiet for days on end, and they seemed to give the tests their very best shot. I was very proud of them.

Please note that the tests took FOURTEEN DAYS out of our schedule. Coupled with the EIGHT student days that were cut, that's a whole lot of instructional time lost.

I can't wait to watch my American Idol tonight. I broke down and bought Kelly Clarkson's CD, because I am majorly cheesy. It's actually really good. Who had a doubt?

I do have some things to look forward to:
--two upcoming school picnics
--seeing my seniors graduate
--my mom coming home very soon
--seeing my Justin in concert
--Jasmine's wedding (Cassandra is flying up and we are driving to Seattle together)
--Summer Vacation
--getting my hair cut and highlighted for the first time

previous - next