current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-19 - 6:44 p.m.

Everyone has told me about this rule of telemarketers. You have to say no three times before they leave you alone and let you get off the phone. I've found this to be pretty much true. Well, tonight I got one who just wouldn't give up and he was cracking me up. I got one of those pseudo-phone crushes on him because he was so funny.

After telling him repeatedly that I wasn't interested and that I had a cell phone with free long distance (he wanted me to try some service and get 1000 minutes free long distance), he just kept going on and on. The three times rule was long gone. Finally I said, "Well, I really have to get off the phone now."

He paused in the middle of his lengthy spiel, and asked with genuine confusion and concern, "And why is that?"

"You're asking me why I have to get off the phone?" I asked him. I started laughing, I couldn't help it. Finally I just told him about the three times rule. "You know," I said, "you're breaking the saying no three times rule--people are only supposed to have to tell you guys no three times before you give up!"

"Who told you about such a rule?"

I told him that everyone knew this rule, and it was a known fact. I again explained how this rule was supposed to work.

He laughed and said, "Well, we are a different kind of company, so we take our rebuttals very seriously. We have such a good deal that we don't want to give up."

Finally I--between giggles--convinced him that I was not going to sign up for the long distance, but he told me it was a pleasure talking to me this evening. I think he really meant it.

Other than that, my life has been pretty uneventful. I caught up on grades, I have four weeks of school left (some being very short weeks), and life is good. The kids were being major brats last week, but I feel like things are going better this week. I had one of my first good Mondays in a while.

I have a four day weekend this weekend, so life is looking really great. I'm still stressed about everything, but hopefully it will all come together.

previous - next