current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-21 - 10:55 p.m.

I'm sad because I have no one to talk to about the American Idol finale. My sister thought she might be able to call me tonight but she wasn't sure. I am sad. I was going to be happy either way. I sort of thought Ruben would win, but I like them both. It seemed to draw away from the joy of winning considering they already made it clear that they signed them both. I cried, of course. I will buy Ruben's CD, and probably Clay's, too.

I've been eating healthier, but the past two days I have totally blown it. I even ate the totally bad sandwich at Subway tonight, instead of getting the low-fat sub. I mean I went all out and got it the way I used to get it--with mayo, cheese, oil, etc. Oh well, it was good.

This week has been pretty relaxed. I've had a hard time getting myself to do much of anything today or yesterday since I didn't have any planning to do. I feel like the year is over and it is NOT. I need to keep telling myself that.

I actually will officially find out tomorrow about whether I will have a job here next year. There is a chance that I might have a job here next year but will be bumped to another school in the district. If that happens I am not sure what I would do. I would hope to get a job in Portland either way, but I'm not sure. The good thing is that Portland and Beaverton just passed special measures that basically got rid of the budget cuts across the state (for them only). So that means there is a better chance for jobs there than there was before. We'll see what happens. I really don't want to be bumped to another school though. The school I'm at is the only thing that makes teaching out here in America's wasteland worthwhile. I know that I don't want to be at the other high schools in the district. I guess I just have to wait and see for tomorrow. Everyone has been so optimistic about my chances of staying that I haven't really considered any other possibility too deeply, but I guess there are no guarantees.

I've been reading Second Helpings by Megan McCaffrey. It is the sequel to Sloppy Firsts. I completely recommend these books to any English teachers who like reading YA novels. So so good! I also just finished Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes. It was so funny because it had me CRYING during reading workshop, but everyone was so busy reading their books they didn't see that dork Ms. Boombastic tearing up. I was glad they didnt' notice. Anyway, that one was so great! I really liked it. Oh, and the final recommendation is called The Brimstone Journals by Ron Koertze. I think kids will really like that one (all of the kids who read it for a little while during reading workshop said it was excellent).

I have a four day weekend coming up and it will be so nice. I have an incredible amount to do because I want to get it together and actually have the rest of the year completely ready. It shouldn't be that hard, and it will feel so good. I just need to keep telling myself that.

Justin was here last night. It's nice seeing him in the middle of the week, but it is so hard to get out of bed when he's here. Luckily he is a morning person and once he is up he is up. He is always totally sweet and makes me something to eat or makes my lunch to help me get ready. I really miss him, but I will see him tomorrow. I made him agree not to make any comments on American Idol as we watched, because I knew he would totally insult Ruben and Clay the whole time (he hasn't watched all season). He was pretty good about it.

Anyway, the reason I haven't been writing is simply because I don't have anything going on. I never have anything going on. I haven't been sad or anything, but just...nothing.

previous - next