current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-26 - 12:00 a.m.

After months of silence (due to Operation Confrontation: Jerkface), Mr. Jerkface has returned into my life with a mean little note. If you don't like petty entries, skip right over this one, because I'm the queen of petty.

About a week ago I needed to pull out a group of about twenty students during my prep period. This meant that they would have to be excused from their classes during that time, but it was a one-time only, extremely important meeting. The advisor for the club that I am now the advisor for has always done it during his prep period, so I knew that it was okay, even though it is annoying for other teachers to have the kids absent from their classes. I also got approval from the principal. So I made a list of all of the students who would be out of class, and wrote a note informing the teachers and apologizing for the inconvenience. I personally put the note into every teacher's box a week before the event. Then, the day before the event, I sent out a reminder to each student. This note basically said that they would be excused from their classes, and where they were to meet.

Well, the day of the event, a kid came with her reminder note and handed it to me, saying it was from Mr. Jerkface. At the bottom of the note, Mr. Jerkface wrote, "Let the teachers know, also. Thanks." HUH?!?! I DID let the teachers know over a week ago! Besides, he hasn't spoken to me for months, avoids looking at me in the hall, and then writes this on a kid's reminder note? I was really angry because it makes me look like I am rampantly and haphazardly pulling kids out of class without notifying anyone, when I was extremely careful to notify everyone. If he had some issue, he should have said it to me directly, not on a note that is passed on by a kid, making it look to the kid as if I am irresponsible. I just thought it was rude.

I ended up writing on the bottom of it, "I did inform teachers over a week ago." Then I put a big ass smiley face on it and stuck it in his box. So Mr. Jerkface writes back, "Oh, it must have been when I was out last week [even if he was out, the note would remain in his box for him to get when he returned]. I never can trust what I here [sic] from these kids. [Even when they have a note from Ms. Boombastic, apparently]" Okay, so first he tries to blame me that he didn't know about this meeting. Then he tries to blame the fact that he was absent. Then he tries to blame it on these dang untrustworthy kids (the meeting was with the top students in the class). I know I'm being petty, but I have a feeling he never would have written me that note if it wasn't for the confrontation we had before. So that would make him petty, too.

I certainly can't help it if I am more beautiful, more talented, more intelligent, more prepared, less absent, and better liked than him? Can I? Don't hate me because I'm boombastic.

previous - next