current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-05-26 - 12:34 a.m.

Don't miss my last entry, because I already posted one tonight.

I was just looking at this writing prompt and I was reminded of something from college. The prompt is basically "What is something that you would almost never do?" So something that you wouldn't do on your own, but you might do if you were given the extra push, or money, or whatever.

One of the things I never thought I would do is get naked in front of a complete stranger. I am not exactly a fan of my body, and although I am able to get naked in front of a boyfriend, or in front of a doctor, I don't relish the idea of public nudity.

Let me throw in a bit of foreshadowing in here. My college dorm had co-ed bathrooms, and we shared our floor with two giant (not to mention repulsive) members of the school's basketball team. These guys stunk and sometimes had nasty loud sex in their dorm room (not with each other, at least I don't think so).

So one day I was finished with my shower, and I was drying off. There were two shower curtains on each shower. One separated the shower from the drying off section, and one separated the drying off section from the rest of the bathroom. Well, I was in the drying off section, minding my own business, completely naked, with the outside shower curtain firmly closed. Suddenly--you guessed it--one of the giant basketball players yanked open the shower curtain!

"AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!" I screamed.

He jumped a mile, yanked the shower curtain closed, and began apologizing profusely about how he had no idea anyone was in there.

"It's okay," I said weakly, "you just scared me."

Now anyone else would have been traumatized by having a giant basketball player (who wasn't even close to being hot) see her naked, and vow never to take a shower in a public place again. Not me. I decided this was a sign I need to get over worrying about random strangers seeing my body. Ugly basketball player guy didn't run screaming from the scene, afterall. After the incident he calmly went into the next stall and took a shower as if nothing had happened.

Ultimately I ended up moving back home, so I couldn't go back to the dorms to shower after my aerobics class anymore. I would never have been caught dead taking a shower in the public locker room showers (no stalls--your shower nossle is just right out there with everyone else's, visible to anyone who walks by on the way to the swimming pool!) before. After giant basketball player saw me naked, though, having a bunch of girls see me naked was no big deal to me anymore. From then on, I took a shower right out in front of everyone. Don't get me wrong, I didn't do the naked-locker-room-walk that many people seem to take pride in; I covered up with a towel when I was done. I did, however, get over the idea that anyone was concerned about my nakedness more than me.

So really, everyone should have a giant basketball player bust in on them in the shower. I highly recommend it.

previous - next