current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-08-27 - 9:42 a.m.

Okay, so last night I wrote a whole post about craigslist date #3. Well, there was this guy who just moved to Portland, is a lawyer, and is 26. He gave me his phone number when I responded to his ad (after mentioning he had only had bad luck with CL) so I called, but he didn't call back. So he called me this morning and said he had a missed call from me and was wondering who I was. He woke me up at 8:30 on a Saturday morning. He talks really fast, but he seems pretty cool. We talk for about a half hour, and he says he is deciding whether or not to meet me, as the first person he meets off of CL. So he is trying to say I seem like a good girl, conservative, etc. He has asked me about my opinion on colored bras (?), and has also asked me about how many boyfriends I have had. Then suddenly he asks me how many people I have been with. Wouldn't that question take you aback on your first conversation with someone who you haven't even met? I just kind of laughed and said that I was surprised he would ask me that and that's usually something you don't really talk about unless you are going to have sex with someone. Anyway, he continues to press me to tell him the number, saying he guarantees that it will be less than his number, so why does it matter, he's just trying to get to know me by asking questions to see if he can meet me. Then he says, "If you don't want to answer you don't have to." AND HE HANGS UP ON ME! Can you believe it? This is someone who has told me that he has been in Portland for three weeks, doesn't know anyone, and he hangs up on me because I don't tell him how many people I've slept with? What is WRONG with that guy? It really pissed me off. Even if that was like the key question in his head about what kind of person I was, the least he could do is say, "Well, that's the dealbreaker question, so I'm not going to waste my time," instead of straight up hanging up on me after we've been talking for about a half an hour. What an asshole. I'm obviously glad I didn't meet him because he has some issues. But it just made me feel even worse about the whole CL thing. Where did these guys come from? Seriously. I don't know how I found Ben before, when all of these other guys are such freakshows.

Ben still hasn't called me, and I miss him so much. I wonder if I will ever get to talk to him again. I hate it that I cared so much about him and he doesn't seem to care about me at all. Was he just being nice when he said he wanted to stay friends? Why would he lie about that? I hate my life. I just wish that I could start over with him, not get so invested right away, and we'd probably still be together. Or I wish he would just realize that he misses me, but he obviously doesn't and I don't know why. I feel like I did everything and gave him everything and still it wasn't enough. This sucks.

previous - next