current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-12-19 - 7:33 p.m.

So remind me never to have a life crisis, because not only does it result in weight loss (good), it also results in phone overage charges (bad). A $96 phone bill, to be exact. Who knew I would go over 1000 minutes in one month? Ugh.

So here's what's been going on with me. I'm on VACATION! It is so nice and wonderful and lovely to have nothing much to worry about...oh, besides lesson plans and paper grading. But really...how can I complain about having two weeks off?

Thursday night was the Christmas party. My friend ended up asking me if I wanted to go with her and her husband, which was incredibly sweet of her. She is all, "I have to take care of you." How nice is she? Her husband is also really sweet and would not let me pay for my drinks at the Christmas party. Can I please have one of these guys for myself?

Anyway, the Christmas party was not as horrible as you would expect, considering I had to see Nathan hang out with the new woman. For one thing, I had a bunch of friends around who were ready and willing to say catty comments about both of them, which made me feel much, much better. Second, neither of them really dressed up...so I definitely had her beat as far as how I looked. Everyone was really complimentary about what I wore, and I felt good about that (although I don't even know if Nathan noticed--I know he saw me, but the punk never even said hi to me.) I guess that's a sign that he feels slightly guilty/awkward about his behavior, as he should). I am not going to repeat some of the stuff in here that I talked about with other people, but I can say that I really realized that she is not a very cool person. I always kind of thought that, but now I have more of a confirmation. Anyway, that evening cemented in my mind that I HAVE TO GET OVER THIS. I already knew that, but now I realize it even more.

I had so much more fun at this Christmas party than I did last year, because people actually seemed to want to talk to me, hang out with me, make me feel better, etc. I am so glad that I have friends at school who are so sweet to me. I really hope, though, that next year we will have the party at a different place.

So I had plans to hang out with my friend on Saturday and go out, and that guy did end up calling me (!) on Monday, which made me happy. I know I was like, "I don't care if he calls!" But it still is an ego boost. Anyway...we made plans to meet up after his plans with his friends that night (with my friend, of course, not by myself). The weirdest thing happened, though, in that my coworker's wife ended up calling and saying she was planning on going out with him and meeting up with her friends and maybe we could all hang out at some point. I thought that would be fun, but the weird part is it turns out that they were trying to set me up with their friend. Which was VERY sweet of them, but the only drawback is that they are both older (like 40) and this guy was also older. My own father is only 46 or something! I just cannot picture myself dating anyone older than 31, and that is a stretch. So that was kind of strange, but I still had fun hanging out with them. My coworker (he is actually my friend, too, and on my team) insisted on paying for us...and we had all ordered pizza and about four pitchers of beer (that he kept pressing on us). That was incredibly nice, but I felt bad. So my friend and I left when they left and ended up going to Rock Bottom for a while. We were looking around for cute guys, but we weren't so bold as to talk to anyone. Then we went to Kell's to meet up with the guy...and while there we did talk to some guys, but they all ended up being 21, 22 years old! I swear, they looked older. There was a really cute one, too, but hello, 21! I don't know what my cutoff for youngness is--maybe 24? I don't know. So anyway, we finally met up with the guy, but he still had some friends from his previous thing hanging out. It was a very surreal night because they were kind of older, too, and so it seemed like we were hanging out with older people all night (lots of old people are fun, but these friends were not fun, in my opinion). We ended up all going to Portland City Grill, which I have never been to...and have always wanted to. So that was fun, but a little chichi (how do you spell that?) I STILL don't know what I think of this guy. The friends were not really people he knew that well. I guess he knew one of them, but the other ones were random people. They were really weird, and kind of annoying. The plus side is that he really seems to be interested in me, seems like a gentleman type, is 6'3", and is dark (he also speaks fluent Spanish since he grew up in Mexico, and I am having all of these, "Talk Spanish to me, baby." fantasies in my head. Am I your worst nightmare or what?) He also admitted that the following incident was not coincidence but that he had purposely followed us because it is not that often that someone starts talking to him like that and he wanted to try to get my number. Ha ha. The minus side is that I still feel like I don't know him very well and can't tell if I am attracted to him. He was very sweet, though. We'll see what, if anything, happens. I also had this major faux pas happen in the bathroom! I was all, "I still don't know what to think of this guy. But the plus side is that he doesn't really know those people, they are not his friends." Because, like I said, those people were pretty annoying. Well, one of "those people" was in the bathroom with us. She was all making comments and I still didn't get she was one of "those people," at first so I kept talking about it. I guess she also didn't know some of the people, so she didn't seem to take offense, but I still felt horrible and like I came across as a snobby biatch. I need to be less judgmental, but sometimes I think my gossipy nature and smack-talking is part of my charm. Other times I am convinced it is all going to come back to haunt me. Anyway, I do think that he is going to call me because at the end of the night he asked if he could call me again. So...hmm.

The best part of the night, though, was hanging out with my friend. That was the first time I really hung out with this particular friend for a long stretch of time alone...and I just had so much fun with her. We ended up going to Taco Bell afterward, and you know there is nothing better than an alcohol fueled Taco Bell extravaganza. I suggested it and she was all, "I was so going to suggest that, and I was going to be sad if you didn't want to go!" So that was fun, and then I spent the night on her couch because I felt too drunk to drive home from there. So I had to do a walk of shame to my car in the morning, but luckily it was a positive thing, not a "I just had a one-night stand, which is why I am still wearing my club clothes." It was a "I am a responsible citizen who did not drink and drive" walk.

Anyway, we are supposed to hang out again sometime soon. I am excited... It's nice to be able to just go out and have fun, you know?

Okay, that's about it. I am going to go and relax...

previous - next