current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-12-13 - 5:06 p.m.

I had a fun weekend. I am feeling more hopeful about...everything. I'm definitely in the angry stage of my grief, though, so watch out. I talked so much about Nathan and how much he sucks this weekend that I even bored myself. I kind of felt sorry for people who had to listen to me. I think maybe it's a sign that I'm getting over it. I hope so at least.

My two parties were fun. The team party was good, but I still felt awkward and couldn't enjoy myself fully even though I drank a lot. I hate it when I am getting drunk and still feel shy. Oh well. I think part of it was that Nathan was there. Luckily he wasn't at the other party (but he was hanging out with HER instead, how nice to find that out). There was a lot of good food, though, and I got to hang out with my friend afterward.

The next party was cool because my coworker's wife (who took care of me when I got sick at the last wine party) invited me to come over before the party and drive over with them. I already had plans to drive with one of my friends and another coworker I don't know that well, so they came with us. We hung out for about an hour before going to the party and had a few drinks (my friend volunteered to drive, which was pretty nice of her when I was the one who said I would drive first). Then we finally went to the party. It was a little awkward at first, but we drank some more and it became less awkward. And, like I said, it was a relief that Nathan wasn't there so I didn't have to feel bad about him all night. I did talk about the situation a little too much, but that's what happens when I drink--I make up for all the time that I don't talk by talking incessantly about myself. Oh well.

We started talking about how we are the only single females on the staff who aren't dating anyone, and we promised we would have a girl's night out on Saturday without any married people that want to go home early (no offense, but lately the married people have not been very party-like). We seriously realized we are the only ones of a staff of about 146532023 who aren't dating anyone. So we said we would go downtown and see if we could get guys to buy us drinks (which normally I am opposed to, because I hate having to talk to strangers, but now I really don't care). Anyway, somehow we decided we would go downtown after the party. And we did. We ended up going to Kell's, where I have never been (What's up, Irish heritage? I don't know.) Somehow I went and introduced myself to these random guys and we sat down near them (I had had four cocktails over the course of the night, and these are homemade so they are pretty strong). We were talking to them a little bit. The funniest part of our conversation was that this one guy was asking what we did, and the two girls I was with said they taught seventh grade. Then he asked me what I did and I said eighth grade. So he was like, "So basically the same thing, right?" And we went on and on about how seventh graders and eighth graders are SO DIFFERENT and he just didn't get it. They are so different, but I guess it makes sense not to know that. Anyway, ultimately we ended up leaving after having this friendly conversation with a few guys. We were walking and talking and realized one of the guys was behind us. I am not clear whether or not he happened to be behind us, or whether he was following up on purpose, but anyway...this is weird. Somehow we started talking to him again and he was asking about how we were going out again on Saturday and could he meet up with us. Then he asked for my phone number and I gave it to him. How crazy am I? Anyway, I doubt he will call me. I barely remember him other than that my friends said that he was cute and nice. I don't really remember what I thought except I was happy he was tall. I also think I was acting sort of like an idiot because I was a little drunk and just asking stupid questions like whether or not he remembered my name, and how tall is he, and how tall does he think I am, blah blah. It totally made my night, though, that I talked to random guys at a bar and one seemed sort of interested in me. I really could care less if he calls, because hey...he's a random guy at a bar. Anyway, I know I am going to have fun hanging out with my friend next weekend. And that is what matters.

Luckily I figured out this morning what I am teaching the kids the rest of the week, so I am all good. I still haven't graded their papers they turned in on Tuesday/Wednesday, but I guess they will survive if they don't get them before break, right?

We have the staff Christmas party this week, which might be a nightmare, but at least I have decided what to wear. I tried it on for Justin and he agreed I should wear the more sexy one. It isn't sexy at all, but it is more sexy than the other one. The other one is super cute, too, but looks like maybe you should wear it to the ballet. I'm just going to do my best to have fun. I am really hoping that someone will invite me to go with them, but I don't know if that will happen. Not like a date, but friends.

I am so tired today. The kids were rowdy. They were being cute, too. I asked them if they would be like this all week. One boy said, "Not all week, but Monday, Wednesday and Friday!" They see me every other day. Oh, sometimes the clock in my room starts acting strangely and part of the numbers don't show up. When this happens I get to hear about it ALL DAY. "Ms. Boombastic, something is wrong with YOUR clock!" "What time is it, that clock is all messed up?" "You need to fix YOUR clock!" "Hey, just wanted to tell you, something is wrong with YOUR clock." Really? I haven't heard about it 35349803 other times today from 90809809 other kids! Don't worry, I am only sarcastic in my head. Because the theory is that even though I have heard it ten million times, it's the first time that THEY are saying it. Sigh...

Okay, I had better try to fix something for dinner.

previous - next