current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-04-18 - 7:33 p.m.

Lucia had her second baby today. I'm going to see her next week. It's another girl (which they already knew). I still can't believe she is a mom. I know there are lots of 25 year old mothers, but it just seems absurd to me. I've known Lucia since we were in first grade, so maybe that's part of it.

I have never felt so much relief for a Friday. I don't know why, this week has just been really long. Next week is a short week, as is every other week in May except for one. I'm happy, but it's going to fly by. I'm at this point of panic that teachers get where I feel like I don't possibly have time to teach everything I thought I was going to. And it's not like history or something, where you are like, "Oh no! I didn't cover the entire 20th century!" Still, there are things that I wanted to do that I won't have time for. And there are a few Shakespeare plays that I have to squeeze in (ugh!) I like teaching Macbeth (to a certain extent) but I am nervous about teaching the other plays because I am not as familiar with them. I also feel like there are tons of skills that I want the kids to have that I don't feel like they have yet, so that's frustrating.

It will be really interesting if I end up here next year. I look forward to having the sophomores from last year next year, but I am also not sure what to expect. They will no longer be 15 year olds, obviously. I may also be able to see what, if anything, they retained from my class, and what they learned from their teacher this year.

I still haven't heard a single word from any jobs. I know it is still early.

I got in a bad mood today at school because of my fourth period. The kids are fine usually, but they just aren't very interested in reading during that period. They are fairly interested in writing, but reading not so much. We were reading aloud and some of the students were just being rude. One boy put his head down and fell asleep and two others laid their heads down. I told everyone to sit up and stop being disrespectful and rude, which is what they were doing. I may be a big hypocrite, since when I was fifteen I slept through Geometry every single day. I know they are tired, but I'm tired of feeling like crap. It wasn't just that, it was something else too, but I can't remember what it was. The class had gotten better as a whole, but the boys in there think it is just a social hour and are not remotely interested in learning anything. My other classes are better. I think part of it, also, is getting back into class mode, since we have been testing and doing various other things for so long. So they aren't entirely to blame, but I still felt really annoyed with them. I also have been annoyed at those boys because of the rudeness they exhibit toward other students from another group. I don't know how to explain it, but I've seen this happen before where there are boys who are from the "cool" group and then girls that are from the sort of "nerdy" group and the boys just sort of treat them with contempt. They do things like if one of the girls eagerly answers a question in class, they will say some snide comment under their breath. They also were not very supportive when the girls were giving their speeches. It just pisses me off when boys act that way. Boys can be so cruel. Luckily the girls seem to be able to brush it off, but they've got to notice. If it happens again I am going to talk to them privately and tell them I will write them up, because it is just not acceptable.

I am sick. I'm hoping I won't get worse because I will not miss any school. I have so little time left with them that I don't want to be away from them for even a day. Besides I have taken too many sick days this year. I have a ton left, but you know what I mean.

previous - next