current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2006-05-26 - 4:57 p.m.

I had a pretty traumatic incident happen last night. I was coming home from the gym late at night and noticed something in the road. I swerved to avoid hitting it, and as I did I noticed it was a cat--but it was moving a little bit. I pulled over and ran out into the street and saw that it had been hit by a car but it was still alive. The poor little guy was gagging and choking with his eyes glazed and mouth bleeding, and he seemed like he was probably going to die. I picked him up and brought him to the sidewalk, but I was pretty upset because I don't do very well in those kinds of situations. His whole body felt weird, as if some of his bones were broken. I held him for a minute, but he seemed like he was in so much pain and I wasn't sure what to do. I put him down and called Chad in a panic since I knew he would be awake. Then two other people who also had to swerve came over to check on the cat, too. He was still gasping and one said that he was probably in shock. I decided quickly that I would take him to my vet since it is open 24 hours. I knew that he would probably die, but I didn't want him to die the way that he was dying, so I thought maybe at the vet they could give him something. So I wrapped him up in my sweater and started to drive over to my vet, which was actually pretty close by. I was talking to him the whole time and petting him, and I was trying not to panic myself, but then he just died in my car right before we got to the vet. I still took him in, and I tried not to cry when I told them what happened. The lady took him from my arms and into the back, and I had to fill out a report. They are so nice at my vet's office, and she was really sweet to me. It was just so upsetting seeing him die. I have seen another cat die before--my friend Cassandra's--but this one was even more awful because of the blood and choking. Poor kitty. It also bothered me a lot because it made me think of my kitties and how awful it would be to lose them. I am pretty sure this cat was a stray because he smelled pretty bad, so I am thankful no one lost their pet and doesn't know what happened.

What was disturbing on top of it was that when I got home my kitties ran up to me and started smelling me. It was not just the usual way that they smell for another cat--it was almost as if they could tell that one of their comrades had died. My evil cat hissed at me and my British cat seemed unusually hyped up, too. It freaked me out even more, and I threw out my sweater and shirt and took a shower right away. Maybe that was extreme, but I was also worried about that cat having diseases. Anyway, overall it was not the best night.

Thankfully, I had a great day at school and I have a fabulous three-day weekend and then THREE MORE WEEKS OF SCHOOL!

previous - next