current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-03-05 - 5:44 p.m.

I got to see the goddess that is Liz Phair again the other night. She is soooooooooooooooooooooo great. She didn't talk as much to the audience as last time, but she was so good. I really love her, and she sang a new song. We (Madison's friend) talked about how sexy she is. She just exudes sexuality, even when she isn't doing anything particularly suggestive. She sang all of my favorite songs except one, and she also sang a new song at the end. I had such a good time.

The other good thing was the opening act. Rachel Yamagata was her name, and she was a great singer, too. I ended up buying her EP. I also bought a Liz Phair t-shirt, and that gave me a free Liz Phair promotional CD with five new songs. I was really excited about that. She signed autographs at the end, but I am sort of crazy and am too embarrassed to interact with people I worship.

The most bizarre thing is that I saw one of my old students there. She was actually one of the valedictorians the year before last. I don't think she saw me, and I was far away and didn't want to lose my place. This is a girl that shares my name, and I really didn't get along with her at all. She is the only student that has ever made me so mad that I am shaking. Anyway, the ironic thing about the whole thing was that she once saw my Liz Phair CD cover and asked me if I liked her. She said she had seen her at Lilith Fair, then said disdainfully that, "She's alright." Um, yeah, so why are you at her show? Anyway...it was just very weird.

I really had fun with my sister's friend, though. She is just one of the nicest people I have ever met. We never had any weird lulls in the conversation or anything like that.

The biggest news that I have to share is that I think I am going to Europe this summer! My friend Elizabeth is going for a trip as a graduation present to herself, and she wants me to come along. I have some savings, and can save some more if I stop buying myself stupid shit all the time like I normally do. So I think I am going to do it! I have never been out of the country so I have to get a passport and all of that. The only thing that is worrisome is that she wants to go to so many countries that I am nervous we will spend too much time on the train. We have discussed it and we'll figure it out. I think it will be the adventure of a lifetime (I am so corny and cliched, I know).

Justin is working late tonight. He's been getting a lot of overtime lately, which is good.

My kids have been particularly rotten lately, especially my last period class. It was a nice feeling to have it be Friday. The good thing is that they seem to be into the book we are reading, and it is going faster than I thought it would. They were actually pretty good today. They tell me that they like it when I read the story aloud. One boy said, "I like the sound of your soft beautiful voice," to be funny, of course, but it was kind of sweet. Even if they are just trying to butter me up, or get out of reading, or both, it's nice when they compliment how I read aloud. At least I'm good at something.

I am going to be helping with an overnight thing at my school next week, which means I will be there until 11 PM. Am I crazy? But it sounded like fun.

I officially have a job here next year. I signed my contract renewal. The budget projections also look better than they thought, so I should be safe from being cut. I am so grateful and happy. I am so lucky that everything worked out, you know? I wasn't sure if I might come here and hate my new job after loving my old one, but I love this one, too.

Portland is now part of the gay marriage thing, but there is a huge controversy over it because there was some secret meeting without the one conservative commissioner guy. I guess I disagree with the way that was handled, but I do think gay people should be allowed to marry. I'm sure that comes as a shock to everyone. HA HA.

Because of the Liz Phair concert I missed American Idol. I still watched the results show. The red haired guy looks so much like one of my cousins that it freaks me out. It's not really making me biased toward him, though. I was glad to see that Marque is going to be part of the wild card show, and I plan on voting for him. I haven't voted for anyone yet. I was also glad that Camille finally got kicked off of Top Model. However, I hate Yoanna even more and hope she goes home soon. She just annoys me so much. Tyra Banks continues to freak me out with her strange mannerisms. I also didn't really like her song, but the video wasn't bad.

I have exercised for the past two days. I'm trying to get more in shape in case we do a lot of walking around in Europe. I made Justin get the exercise machine out, so now I have to actually use it on a regular basis. We'll see if I can do it.

Oh, I forgot to mention what countries we are considering for Europe. We are thinking England, Ireland, France, Italy, and maybe Spain and Austria. Austria is all Elizabeth--I have no desire to go there, but I am not against it, either. See, that's a lot of countries to try to go to in 3-4 weeks, right?

I scheduled a doctor's appointment, but apparently I can't get immunizations for travel under my insurance plan. You are supposed to get up to date on your shots before you go. I am not sure how much they are out of pocket. I scheduled just a regular doctor's visit since I haven't been this year. I was so good that I scheduled it during spring break instead of using it to get out of part of a day of school. Wow, I really must like my job or something. I am considering taking a personal day at some point since I have never taken one before and you lose them if you don't take them.

previous - next