current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-12-29 - 12:50 a.m.

I think I realized that one of the best things ever is playing board games. Seriously, it is such a bonding and fun experience for everyone, and it eases tension in group gatherings. I already knew this, but I totally forgot until today.

I have had a really good time the last few days catching up with my family. The oldest three are all on the east coast, so I don't get to see them unless they are home on break, and the others live in Washington. The two youngest both look so much bigger! Anyway, my sister came over on Sunday night and we drank beer. When I went on the date with the guy I mentioned, we each had two HUGE margaritas and he was like, "Man, you can drink." And apparently, yes I can (my family can) because my sister and I drank 10 beers between the two of us. It was over the course of a six hour evening, but STILL. And whatever, homie, you totally did not bore me by staying late into the night. I have so much fun with you!

Then yesterday was spent on this mad crazy shopping extravaganza in which I tried to find perfect gifts for the last few people I had not shopped for. I also decided at the last minute that I would make one of those wall photo collages for my dad and stepmother of pictures of me when I was little (since they didn't know me then and don't have pictures of me from then). So that took quite a few hours because I had to scan them and size them and all of that. It turned out pretty well, though.

Today I drove up with the three oldest kids to see them in Washington, and it was a little awkward for me, but not as awkward as last year. I got some really cool gifts, too. Like I said, things were a lot of fun when we were playing the board game. I think part of the awkwardness is my insanity and always overanalyzing every single thing in life. I wish I could get rid of that quality. Everyone did seem to like the gifts I got them (luckily, I had some help from my sister, Madison), although I wasn't sure about the gift I got the youngest brother. It was some random game with dragons and stuff, but he did put the whole thing together so I guess he liked it alright. The best part was that when my dad opened the photo collage he was totally excited by it and also got a little choked up. This was also the first time that he has ever hugged me. So that whole thing made me happy. I also just enjoyed the drive with my three brothers and sisters because they always crack me up. I always kind of wonder how it would be if I had grown up knowing them, but I guess I would still have been the outsider since I have a different mom. I guess I am just jealous, but I am very, very lucky to have what I do have now.

So tomorrow is date #2 with the guy. I hope it goes well. Luckily we are seeing a movie so we don't have to talk that much. That sounds bad, but I guess I am just nervous about running out of things to say (when am I not nervous about that?)

I am really worried about my kitten. She has been sick the whole time that I have had her, and just today I noticed that her nose is totally red and looks peely and as if it is all raw. She has been wheezing a lot, but she was running around and playing and seems to be eating fine. When I took her to the vet the first time they just said she had a cold, but I am thinking of taking her in again since it has lasted so long. She also smells sort of bad, and I think it might have to deal with the raw irritated skin. Because her nose is all snotty she has been licking at it a lot, so maybe it is like chapped lips on humans. I will take her tomorrow if it isn't looking any better.

I am starting to get really worried about my finances lately. I need to get my budget under control. I can't continue to spend money the way that I have been, and the main expense seems to be going out to eat. I guess that is probably true for almost anyone, but I eat out WAY too much. I need to cut it out, and I need to start saving money again. I used to be really good about saving money each month, but now...not so good.

I wish I had more of my vacation left. I really, really don't want to go back to school.

previous - next