current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-04-27 - 6:48 p.m.

Here's yet another thing I thought I would never say: "Tony, don't wear your binder as a hat, please." Yes, it's been one of those days. Some days middle schoolers can really drive me crazy.

I still haven't heard anything about all the work stuff that's going on, but I have become more at peace with how my job description will change next year. I guess two years in a row of teaching the same thing was more than I could have hoped for. I was SO SET for next year, though. Oh well. Basically, I will be teaching more writing than reading next year, and that will be fine. I love teaching reading, but you have to have kids read good literature to teach them how to write well, so I don't have to completely give it up. The problem is that I have been so focused on reading this year that it has dominated my class (at least 75% of what I do). Anyway, change is fine, and I will deal with it like I've dealt with it basically every year of my career.

I got a notice about doing state writing scoring again this summer for four days, and I am definitely signing up. I need the extra money, it's easy, and it's not that bad. I'm pretty excited.

I joined this place called meetin (I guess they have them all over the US) where people plan events (like happy hours, etc.) and you go to try to meet new people. It's not a dating site (no offense, but I am not really into that AT ALL), but I guess you COULD meet someone that way. Anyway, I just joined to meet new friends and have more stuff to do. I feel like I have very few people who I can just call up and say, "Let's go do something RIGHT NOW!" And I can get lonely. Anyway, I am going to the first thing tomorrow, which is a happy hour. I ended up not going to the book club meeting (for Crabwalk, which I could only get 80 pages into), and I felt bad about that. I am for sure going tomorrow. We'll see how it goes. There is a guy who sent me a few messages on there and he said he is going, too, so we'll see what he's like in person. I wonder if he messaged Ava, too, because our profiles are very close to each other. I meant to ask her. I asked her to join, too, and she has a guy messaging her on there, too. So maybe my friend was right who thought it was people who are pretending to try to meet friends but are actually trying to hook up with people. Hmmmmmm.

Tonight we find out who gets kicked off of American Idol. Please let it be Carrie, the most boring and annoying idol since John Stevens. I predict it will be Scott, though, which is fine. I liked him at first, but he's losing it for me. I want Bo or Vonzell to win.

This week has seriously been the slowest week in the history of the universe. I have no idea why, but I can't wait for it to be over.

After this week I only have seven weeks left of school. SEVEN!!! I'm so happy.

previous - next