current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-04-24 - 12:29 p.m.

Things have been pretty good lately. I only had one bad parent at conferences, and they were pretty poorly attended this year. Over two days we probably had about fifty parents come in. We have conferences in the cafeteria on the first day and in our rooms on the second day. If you recall, the way that I found out that Nathan and his woman were together was by watching them interact at the November conferences. So I wasn't exactly looking forward to this. The only real awkward moment was when we all went in to eat the dinner they provide for us on the first day. I saw them together in line and wanted to throw up. Then my friend and I got our food and saw Nathan was sitting at a table that was getting kind of full. We decided to start a new table (her suggestion). So we went to sit down, and were the only two people sitting at the table. It was a huge table. All of a sudden, Nathan's woman walks up and says hi and starts to sit with us! WHAT THE HELL?!?!? We said hello but both gave each other the What is going on? look. Neither of us has really ever talked to her before, other than one or two interactions, and she knows that I had a thing with Nathan in the past. I don't know why she would want to sit anywhere near me when she won't even answer a professional email about a kid that I sent to her. But anyway, Nathan cleared his throat in a "Come sit next to me" gesture at the table behind us and she got up and squeezed in next to him. Thank God, but it made me hate him even more.

I actually don't hate him all the time now, and we're always friendly to each other, but it just feels unbelievable that we ever had anything between us. He fucking called me his girlfriend and said things like, "When you move in with me," and, "Our kids would be so beautiful," and, "Let's take things slow, because I don't want to fuck things up with you like I always do." And he acts like it was all in my head that we had something between us.

But I didn't mean to obsess over Nathan again. I am sick of thinking and talking about him, but I guess I just had a relapse there. Since we were in our rooms on Friday I got so much stuff done. I have next week planned, every single piece of paper graded, and my room is organized. Yay for me.

I went to happy hour after work with the nice, successful couple from my work. I really like them, but rarely get to hang out with them since they are in their couple-world. It was fun, though, and I'm glad they asked me to go. I had a few margaritas, though, and when I got home I completely fell asleep. Jose called me at around eight, and he had gone out with his coworkers as well. So we hung out and he spent the night for the first time in a long time. He used to always spend the night, but then he moved to his current house and got his dog back. And you know how people are about their dogs--they can't leave them alone for long periods of time. So anyway, he spent the night and we both kind of drank too much. It was really nice, though. Things are as normal as they ever will be between us, and I'm having fun and feel happy about things. We'll see how long it lasts this time. Despite his issues (and my issues, although mine are not as big) he really is a sweet, fun person. The sex is also amazing, as I've mentioned before. And by amazing I mean good-enough-to-stay-in-a-non-relationship-for. I know, I know. Anyway, I'm still trying to date other people. We'll see if I can find anyone else to date.

Yesterday I hung out with my mom and then I went out with Ava and her friend and friend's fiance. We went to Doug Fir, Chopsticks, and Bossanova. I had a pretty good time, although I always feel like a big loser because I can't make conversation very well with strangers. I only really saw one cute boy, but I couldn't tell if he was tall enough, and I'm not exactly the best at going up to talk to people I don't know. I only had a few drinks because I was driving and I didn't want to spend much money. Ava said that I could stay the night at her house, so maybe I will another time if I want to drink more.

Today I have a book club meeting for this book that I haven't read yet. I read about thirty pages, and it was the most boring and confusing book I've read in a long time. I'm going to attempt to go finish it now.

The other thing I've done to try to meet new people is I joined this girls's only poker night. Before the whole Nathan thing ended I was having poker night with the people who went on the Las Vegas trip regularly, but that kind of fell apart. So I think this poker night will be fun, and it starts next week. We'll see how it goes. It is a five dollar buy-in, and hopefully they are playing Texas Hold 'Em. I haven't played in so long I have probably forgotten how, but it should be fun anyway.

Okay, it's time for me to get off the computer.

previous - next