current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-01-24 - 1:25 a.m.

I have great news. Justin got a job, and it actually relates to his field. He will be working in an art gallery! It pays really poorly, but it is definitely better than nothing. On the same day he also heard back from the police department, and he is all set up to take a written test. I know that it is a huge long process to become a police officer, but it is all a step in the right direction.

The local paper in my old town ran a story about three of my students who graduated last year who just graduated from their military training. There is a picture of them in their uniforms looking appropriately solemn. It just sort of blew my mind, because they look so different and grown up and...manly. Two of the three boys were boys that were funny and energetic, but just could drive me up the wall. They were constantly disruptive, but they were also two of the sweetest boys. They were the ones that sent me a balloon-o-gram for Valentine's Day that said, "We love you, Ms. Boombastic. Macbeth RULES." One of them was the one that I wrote about in this entry, and in this one. This is also the young man who, after reading my card to him on the last day of school, said in front of the class, "I'm sorry I was a dick to you all year, Ms. Boombastic." He really wasn't a dick all of the time, but if that wasn't a sincere apology, I don't know what is.

I guess what I am trying to get at is that those two boys were two of my favorites, and I really wondered how their crazy energy was going to work out in the Marines (all of their teachers were, to be honest). It looks like they are doing just fine. I am glad for them that they are getting to fulfill their goals, even though serving in the military wasn't something that I would have chosen for them myself, especially right now. I am proud of them, and I am glad I got to see that things are working out for them so far.

The only people that I have talked to from my former town since I left have been a few students (sophomores, of course, which really reminds me of why sophomores are definitely my favorites). I emailed the secretary, but I haven't heard back from her. I miss my coworkers more than I thought I would. Maybe I will email them soon.

I'm going to see Win a Date With Tad Hamilton! tomorrow. Don't be jealous. There it is--yet another of my patented stolen phrases. Don't be jealous is a classic, but it is said in a certain tone, usually about something no one in their right mind would be jealous about. However, I am guessing you really are jealous about this movie. Because it is going to be GREAT!!! I hope.

previous - next