current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2009-11-21 - 10:19 a.m.

Last night I seriously attended the best event of my life. No, it was not New Moon! It was So You Think You Can Dance on tour! My amazing British Boyfriend got me and my mom tickets for my birthday. I have been to the Rose Garden for a concert before (Justin Timberlake), and even though I bought the best tickets available right when they went on sale, they were very, very disappointing seats. We were so far away I could barely see him without looking at the big TV screens. So I was prepared to be disappointed, even though British Boyfriend said they were going to be good seats.

Well, the seats were amazing! You know how at big concerts they have the stage and folding chair seats in front. We were not in those seats, but we were three rows behind them on the side, so we were really, really close. I know I may be a dork, but my mom and I watched every single episode of Season 5 and felt like we knew and loved all of the dancers. We were so close we could see their facial expressions and see their muscles in great detail (Hello, Brandon!). We were both smiling and happy the whole show. They included some new group dances as well as all of our favorites from the season. It was interesting how even when they danced dances that weren't my favorite during the show how great they were. My favorite, of course, was the Jeanine and Jason dance where they kiss, but I also loved every other dance. Brandon's solo was the best--if you watched the show it was the one where he is just in a black pair of underwear basically and danced to really dramatic powerful music. My mom and I both loved it. And I was so happy that I got to see it with my mom since we watched it together all season. Anyway, if you are a fan of the show, I highly recommend watching them on tour. But get really, really good tickets, even if they are really, really, expensive!

Other than that, nothing too exciting is going on. I am going to go to lunch with Mandy. Even though her baby is two and a half now, I barely ever see her. She tried coming back to work after taking the first year off, and after a ton of drama with her husband and daycare she ended up quitting a few months into the school year. She basically felt like her marriage would be destroyed if she didn't give up her job, even though she loves teaching and is meant to be a teacher. Her husband is not on my list of favorite people, but that's her business. I just feel bad that she thought she was signing up for one thing and was forced into another. Anyway, I barely ever see her anymore, and I am sad about it.

Last time that I wrote, my friend Eliza was dating this guy and I felt really sad because I felt like I was losing her. I am so thankful to say that he is out of the picture now and she has a nice, normal boyfriend. As it turned out, part of the reason why she was being so weird and snippy with us, and part of why she seemed less than happy, was because he was actually a complete asshole. I think he was either manic depressive or bipolar because as it turns out he was completely emotionally abusing her. He would be really sweet most of the time and then have these episodes where he would flip out and call her a whore or slut (which she is far from and had given him no reason to believe she cheated on him--he was basing it on a few secrets she had told him about her past). He would go on horrible tirades that made her feel bad and then do the whole, "I'm so sorry, baby, it will never happen again..." blah blah. Anyway, ultimately she told me what was going on, told him she wasn't putting up with it, and when he did it again she broke up with him. I am so glad. Her new boyfriend is super nice and treats her well. He also is really young and short but that doesn't bother her! I am so glad she found him.

My friend Olivia got married to her long time boyfriend this summer and I was in the wedding. It was a lot of fun. I sometimes feel really frustrated at her husband because he doesn't make healthy choices or get on board with helping her make healthy choices, but I guess lately he has been better. In the past she would try to go on diets and do exercise and not only was he not supportive (eating crap in front of her) he would also encourage her to eat poorly as well. I guess he went to the doctor recently and found out his cholesterol is awful and he needs to make some changes, so now he is more on board.

I guess this is an update about my friends and family? My sister got married this October! I was also in her wedding in the DC area, and I had so much fun! I got to meet an aunt and cousin that I never met before, and got to hang out with my brothers and father and stepmother. Along with my new bffs (another bridesmaid and another one of Madison's friends). I had a great time and so did the bride and groom. They went on their honeymoon to Italy and Greece. So jealous.

I love weddings so much, and I really want my own. I also have been having baby fever. My best friend on my team at work, K, is pregnant and she is just so cute. She is having a girl, and I am so jealous and excited. I am really proud of her, also, because she has continued to exercise the whole pregnancy. I hope that I am one of those people. I suspect I will instead be one of the people who gains fifty pounds and eats for two. Hopefully not.

My British Boyfriend just joined my gym, so now everyone but Eliza (and my mom) is a member of my gym. This should help motivate me to work out as much as possible, right?

Oh, I took up running in the time that I was gone. Me, a runner? I wouldn't believe it either. I was doing it very steadily for months, but when I got sick and went to my sister's, I slacked off. I have to get back into it. It was really cool because I would set goals each time and I felt so powerful and strong. The most I ran in a row was 50 minutes (I am really slow) on a treadmill. I really want to run my first 5K in March, so I have to start training for it again. I never thought I would like running because I have always hated it with a passion. I wouldn't/couldn't even run the mile in PE in high school!

Okay, the only reason I posted is because Shaun wrote an entry welcoming me back. I thought I owed him at least one more entry. :)

previous - next