current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-04-01 - 5:59 p.m.

I have to figure out some sort of cool slogan for a banner--Epiphany's banner just showed up above this box, which made me think of it. Kind of cool to see the banner of someone that I "know."

I'm feeling loads better than last night. I did end up calling Justin, for the third time, and he made me feel a lot better in general. My eyes were somewhat red today from crying last night and the kids quizzed me on whether I had been getting enough sleep or whether I was stoned. This led into the inevitable question of whether or not I have ever tried any drugs. I always just say it is none of their business, in the sweetest way possible. I say I will leave it up to them to decide whether I have or not, which makes half of them yell that I have and the others yell that I haven't. Then they tell me that Mr. Gruff-Hard-Ass-Teacher told them he did acid. They've told me this ten million times. They do admit, however, that he didn't actually say he did it. They just inferred it, I guess.

I did have a better day than expected, especially considering the mad rush at the copy machine this morning and the fact that in my rush to get back to my room I picked up a pen that was uncapped and got it right on my new shirt! That made me feel it was going to be a very bad day, but actually the kids were sweet and the sophomores enjoyed their lesson. The seniors merely tolerated theirs, but at least I heard less complaining than usual. I'm trying to think of more ways to make things fun while we are finishing up this novel (that I will never teach again unless I have Honors kids), so we're going to be playing a vocabulary game with it that I hope they will enjoy. They get so competitive and crazy if candy is involved that it is not even funny. Actually it is really funny, because when I was in high school I probably would have considered myself too cool to want a sucker for a prize.

My mom really outdid herself this Easter and sent me just what I wanted--an Amazon.com gift certificate for $50.00! I already spent it (plus ordered one extra thing at the same time, because it is cheaper since it's already being shipped). I got: Cruel Intentions, Say Anything, two books I can't remember the titles of, and the new Alanis M. CD. I never really liked her except for a few songs, but I just feel really into her lately. I can't believe how much my musical tastes have changed since high school. All I ever listened to back then was R&B, rap, and reggae. I still like those, but I am also suddenly into all of the angsty singers like Liz Phair, and Aimee Mann. I used to hate music like that.

I almost forgot my other good news! I feel like I'm playing Monopoly, but I got a letter today from the IRS saying that there was an error in my favor and they are sending me $300.00! I think it might have something to do with not getting the check others got last year. I am really happy. However, I don't know if it is really because of that, or if I am just really bad with math. I did have to pay something like $60.00 so it's not really a whole $300.00, but it will still feel like it.

I actually am pretty much caught up (except for grading, but I did grade for an hour after school) so I am feeling somewhat light-hearted and good about myself.

Tomorrow the sophomores are doing an in-class essay for the whole period that they have to be quiet for (practice for state testing) so that will be nice. Unless they aren't quiet, which won't be nice. I guess I'll have to be the mean detention lady if that happens. I hate it when I have to let her surface her ugly head.

Okay, I had better get going. I am also reading a new book that's pretty good--it's called Sloppy Firsts. I'm hoping I can finish it by Wednesday so I can use it as my book talk. It is about a girl in high school but it's sort of one of those hip new books. It is sort of like Ghost World or something like that. It's not really, but that's the best parallel I can think of.

Okay, I'd really better get going.

previous - next