current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-07-30 - 11:29 a.m.

I talked to my (oldest) younger brother for the first time last night--the 22 year old. I was really nervous about talking to him and we had been playing phone tag, but he finally got ahold of me last night. We talked for over two hours. It was so easy to talk to him, and he was so awesome in general. We made arrangements to meet towards the end of August. I'm going to go visit him (he's still in college). Not only was he hilarious, but he also seemed really nice, and he had similar political views to mine. We even liked some of the same bands! He loves Elliott Smith, too, and a few other obscure local bands. The thing I kept thinking the whole time I was talking to him was that he would be the perfect guy for Cassandra. I guess a little young for her, but you know. I really can't wait to meet him.

I also ended up talking to Cassandra after that until nearly SIX in the morning. I left her a message to call me when she got home from work, so I think she called about about 1 AM or something. I had to pimp out my brother to her, you know. But anyway, we are so excited about our vacation coming up this weekend. I'm not sure what all we're going to do while we're there, but I know it is going to be the best time. The only thing hanging over us is that we didn't mention to Jasmine that we are going on this trip. And last time I talked to Jasmine it sounded as if she would be in Hawaii at the same time. I think on a different island, though, and what are the chances that we would run into her? That would be awful if we did, on so many different levels of awfulness.

I made a cheesecake last night with rather sad results. It was hard work, and I made the crust and filling entirely from scratch. Well, it tastes pretty good, but the top is darker than it should be, and it cracked in two places. So presentation-wise it sucks. At least it tastes good, but I feel embarrassed about the whole thing. I wanted it to turn out like this was it, my signature dish that everyone will be like, "Ms. Boombastic, make sure you bring your fabulous cheesecake!" But no, apparently cheesecake is not my culinary masterpiece. I'm still bringing it to Justin's house because I made the mistake of telling him all about how great it was going to be, and cheesecake is his favorite thing in the entire world. Hopefully he will not make fun of the burnt top. I really have to get that recipe from the woman at my work, because that cheesecake is the best cheesecake I've ever had in my life.

Mischief mentioned in my notes that the next two American Idol themes are going to be seventies and eighties. I am so excited about the seventies one, but not so sure about the eighties. If Ryan is still there, I am frightened by what eighties song she might choose. I was hoping that my prediction of them having a Beatles theme would come true, but I guess not. I just heard on a random VH1 show that Michael Jackson has all the rights to those songs, so maybe it would be too expensive or something. Anyway, we'll see tonight what disasters may come. I would absolutely love it if someone sang "The Pina Colada Song." I think that is the funniest, cheesiest song ever. I can just imagine Justin singing it. Let's hope no one sings any Eagles songs. Now that I've said that, I predict that RJ will sing "Hotel California." I'm pretty sure both of those songs are from the seventies.

I was reading an entry in a weblog that was about how she determines whether she links someone else or not. There was a comment from someone else who has a weblog that I regularly read, but doesn't read my diary. She was talking about her linking practices and then she mentioned that there are two people that she doesn't link, but she reads, because she can't stop reading their stuff, but she actually doesn't like them as people enough to link them. I thought that was sort of interesting, and then I got all paranoid that maybe I was one of them. I really doubt it, because I have only commented a few times on her site. But how awful would it be to have a reader that really disliked you and thought you were an idiot, but they were compelled to keep reading your thoughts? It was something to think about, since I usually won't read if I really dislike someone.

One last thing. I watched part of Interview With a Vampire last night. In one of the first scenes, Tom Cruise is sucking Brad Pitt's blood to make him a vampire. I was thinking to myself, with all of the sensitivity Tom Cruise has about people constantly thinking he's gay, why would he do a movie that had such homoerotic undertones? I mean, I think it's a cool part and everything, but seeing as how he is so, "No, REALLY, I am NOT gay!" you would think he would have some qualms about doing the part. Things that make you go hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. Remember that line? I am so 1991.

previous - next