current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-07-31 - 10:00 p.m.

First of all, I found this cool link on the back of the book I mentioned I read, Good In Bed by Jennifer Weiner. As I mentioned, I didn't love the book, but it was decent. However, I think this website is awesome because the author has a weblog that she updates regularly. She plugs her books a lot (I would too, if I were an author!) but she also talks about things like American Idol. I love it that she is as obsessed with the show as I am.

Speaking of American Idol, I could NOT believe that Justin was one of the bottom two. Second only to Ryan Starr? I think that the way this voting is going is really crazy. It does seem, like Paula Abdul mentioned, that everyone really is voting on the quality of performances each week, not just on who they think should ultimately win. I really didn't like Justin's performance last night, either. I didn't vote last night, because I was at Justin's house and I didn't want him to tease me all night about it. But I would have voted for the people I like best again. I like Justin, RJ and Christina the best. I really loved RJ's performance last night. And I think he would be cute in a boyband, so who cares whether or not he could be a solo artist. I think Tamyra is a good singer, but she just doesn't do it for me for some reason. I did think that Ryan was very sweet in her goodbye speech, and I thought Simon was very sweet to say she could call him for advise and all of that. Interesting. But I still don't like her. It will be really interesting to see what happens next week. I'm hoping Nikki will get voted off next. I don't dislike her as much as I did, but I think she is the least talented of the performers left.

I have the funniest small world story to mention. Remember that son of another teacher I met at a bar back in June? Yesterday Justin was talking to me about this party they were having in his Spanish class he's taking this summer. He started talking about who was hitting the pinata, and he said, "Oh there's this guy in my class that sometimes wears a _____(insert nearest town name here) sweatshirt, and I was wondering if he knew you somehow." Somehow when he said that I immediately thought it was the guy from the bar. I asked what his name was, and it was him! I described the guy just to be sure, and he was like, "Yeah, that's him!" I thought that was the funniest thing ever. Justin did, too. I had already told him all about this guy because it is kind of a funny story about how we were sitting at a bar talking about English major stuff. Justin used to be kind of a jealous boyfriend type, but apparently not anymore. I even mentioned that my cousin thought he was hitting on me, and he was like, "Yeah, if I was at a bar and I was drunk I would hit on you, too." Ha ha, my boyfriend is so sweet (wait a minute--only if you were drunk?!?!?) Anyway, the whole thing was very surreal.

I had my class today again, and we spent half an hour on introductions and why we're glad we're teachers. I have already ranted about this, but HALF AN HOUR! We already all introduced ourselves last time we met. I hate hate hate this class.

Justin and I have been getting along so well lately. I just love being around him, and I'm just not going to worry about how things are going to turn out with him getting a good job until he is out of school and I actually need to worry about it. So right now things are going great.

I may not post again for awhile, since I'm off to the tropics. Hope you miss me.

previous - next