current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2008-08-09 - 11:32 a.m.

Sorry that the MM picture on my blog has been broken for a while now. I haven't felt like I can spend the money to renew my diaryland account, so it will remain broken until I take it off or pay up. How tacky!

Tomorrow is the date with the British Boy. I'm excited but nervous. It's been a while since I have gone on an internet date. Well, that's not true. I went on one about a month ago, but it was with a very strange guy, so I don't know that it really counts as interacting with someone normal. He was a do-gooder type guy who was actually pretty interesting, but he was so interesting that he talked about himself nonstop.

So one of the things about P that I love/hated is that he made a lot of money and he spent a lot of money. We often would go places to eat dinner where I felt a little out of my element. Some of these places were really delicious and nice, and he insisted on paying when we went to places like this, but I still felt a little intimidated by them. I am not used to going places where all of the entrees cost 25-30 dollars and you also order an appetizer and dessert and drinks. I also feel completely guilty at places like that because the food is small and expensive and sometimes not as delicious as everyone seems to believe.

Why am I bringing this up, you might wonder? Well, British Boy has the same job as P, so I am assuming he makes a lot of money, too. British Boy suggested two restaurants, but one of them was closed on Sunday (luckily). Both of these restaurants were those type of places (one of which I have heard about a lot--supposedly one of the top five restaurants in Portland), but the one we are going to is a little less expensive. I still feel like I need to dress up more than I would on a typical first meeting. I am just hoping that I don't feel out of my element with him. I also hope he plans on paying...ha ha. I know, what am I complaining about? I get to go to a nice restaurant I would not be able to really afford to go to myself...but...I want to feel comfortable with this guy, too. I did feel comfortable with P overall, but I sometimes got the feeling that we were not the same type of people. I mean my favorite restaurant is a ghetto Mexican restaurant where we go for happy hour and they call us Maestra and Amor because they know us so well.

I normally try to meet for a drink for the first time, but I was feeling optimistic about this guy. I'll let you know how it goes.

Chad is, as usual, jealous about me attempting to try to date again. We have been keeping things strictly friends for so long now, but we talk every day and hang out about once a week. So even though we are just friends we spend a lot of time talking, etc., and if I ever get a boyfriend things will have to change...at least a little.

My summer is rapidly coming to an end, and I'm not as sad as I should be. I have been kind of lonely at times, and I miss having a schedule. I do love getting as much sleep as I need (I think my body actually needs 8-9 hours of sleep a night, because that's how much I have been sleeping). I am worried because next year we have so many changes and a much bigger workload. I always seem to be able to handle it, though. I hope I can this year, too.

I have been doing better about exercise, and I am actually starting to enjoy it again. I exercised five times this week. I need to figure out a schedule for the school year, too, that I really stick to. I didn't lose the weight that I gained (I actually haven't weighed myself in about a month, but looking at my body and my clothes, I don't think so), so I need to at least try to maintain during the school year instead of gaining more weight like I usually do. The main problem is that I have developed a little pot belly. It actually doesn't look that bad in most of my clothes, but I can't wear a few of my favorite shirts that are tighter without feeling self-conscious. I had hoped to lose it, but I guess that I am meant to have a pot belly. Ha ha.

Oh, I have been talking/emailing with a few other eHarmony guys. I am not as into them, but I am going to arrange to meet one of them soon. We'll see. One I haven't talked to on the phone yet did say something in his profile that really got me. He looked cute in some pictures but not as cute in others, and he's Asian and 5'10" but kind of chubby looking. He requested communication, and I wasn't sure based on appearance. Then I read this under his additional information:

When people asked me what I was looking for in a woman, I replied, "Audrey Hepburn". But let's face it; she has been gone for a while now. It's not her I was really looking for, it was an idea I had of her. It was the idea of a having a strong, enchanting, talented woman that could light up a room, as a partner in life. Now that I have gotten older and know more of what I desire, I am no longer looking for that woman that can light up a room. No, the task is much harder; most women can light up a room. I am looking for that woman that can light up my life.

This is a guy who from the rest of his profile you could tell he is super funny and doesn't take life too seriously. That was one of the sweetest things I have ever heard, and maybe I am just a sucker, but...it made me respond to him. :) Audrey Hepburn is hard to live up to, though, so who knows.

I had better go get ready to start my day now.

previous - next