current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-04-15 - 5:10 p.m.

This week has been a weird one. The kids are rowdy, but in a good-energy type of way. We are doing speeches, and today I realized again why I love my seventh period class so much. They are just so supportive of each other that it makes me want to cry. There is so much jargon about creating a safe classroom, team-building etc., but this class has done it all on its own. They give good feedback to each other without me having to prompt them. One girl gave an emotional speech and we all had tears in our eyes and admitted to it. My third period class is like that as well. The other classes need a little bit of work.

It's amazing to me what some of the kids are willing to talk about in front of the class. I have had kids talk about witnessing spousal abuse, tampons, and being attacked. Pretty amazing.

We read a story today that just had the kids entranced. That always feels so great.

I am the advisor for the valedictorians at my school and I met with them today. Last year was really stressful toward the end, so I am going to make them submit their drafts of their speeches in May. I do not want the drama that happened last year. Hopefully all will go well with that.

I've been thinking a lot about lesson plans and such, and I need to do better. I want to be more challenging, and I want to make sure I feel like I am teaching all that I need to do. Our state test scores do look better this year, although obviously I can't take all the credit for that. Alfie Kohn said that if your test scores look good, you should ask what the kids are not learning. He's completely right--how much of their learning time was spent doing practice state testing? I SO look forward to having kids tested at all grade levels instead of just benchmark years. Thanks, George W.

I've been feeling good lately. I hope I stay that way.

previous - next