current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-04-14 - 10:31 p.m.

I guess when I feel good I don't write. Lately I have just not been in the mood.

I went on a fabulous and fun mini-vacation that was all paid for by work (a grant). I went with a bunch of other teachers to work on researching what we are going to do next year for various things (different teams had different projects). It was at a resort type place in Central Oregon, and I had such a great time! My team was a group of 50+ year old women, but it was still so fun. Two of them were middle school teachers, and one was a high school teacher. I have worked closely with two out of three before, and they are cool. One of them works at the middle school that feeds into my school (there were a few others there on the math team who did as well). It was so fun talking with her about all the kids, telling her how they turned out, and hearing all the stories about them from when they were middle schoolers. She is just the sweetest person, and you can tell a good teacher when you talk with them. She loves the kids. She is one of the only ones that the kids still bring up, too. I was also paid a very high compliment when she said, "Because you're a great teacher..." and I said, "But you don't know if I am!" and she said, "Yes I do, my kids come back and tell me about you. They love you." I thought that was so nice!

I think drinking too much is just one of those universal bonding things. I drank a lot of wine with the two middle school teachers and we had so much fun. Both of them have been divorced and we talked about relationships and the whole never-ending question about Justin and I working out. It was such a good conversation. It's funny how I can now hang out with older women and feel completely at ease with them. I just had a great time overall. I wish they worked at my school.

We did actually get some work done while we were there, too. Don't worry. Your tax dollars are hard at work.

Did you know that complacency can go as far as to mean "smug"? I didn't.

I was glad to be back with my kiddies. It felt like getting back from spring break. The only thing I was not glad to return to was lesson plans and paper grading. Someday I will have it all together. The kids are sweet and loud and funny.

I was so pissed that Rickey got voted off of American Idol. I voted for him a bunch of times because he was the only one I really felt strongly about. Naturally this meant he would get voted off. If those two blondies don't get voted off soon I will scream. I wasn't really down with Kelly's "Ms. Independent" song, but I would probably buy the CD. We'll see.

I am currently reading Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. It's alright. Sometimes I just feel like I can't relate to the girls in young adult books at all. I considered myself to be a pretty good girl as a teenager, but it seems to me that teenagers as a whole are much more crude and lewd than depicted by young adult books. I mean, teenage girls talk about sex in graphic detail pretty much all of the time, even if they haven't had it yet. I haven't talked about sex in detail since college. I think I have regressed back into a prude.

As usual I have a million things going on. Not one single person has called me about a job, which is really frustrating me, because there were actual jobs posted at a few places. I am sure a ton of people applied for those jobs, but still...I'm just nervous about everything.

I don't know what I am doing about my class. I have a ton of work to do for it, and I am still sort of lost and confused by the requirements. I guess that's just how it is. I can't wait until I am done with this crap for good. I also can't wait to be reimbursed, trusting that there is enough money in the pool. I found out that I can submit for a class that hasn't been graded yet if I get a note from the teacher that I am in good standing. The deadline is in May, so that will be helpful because I thought you had to have the grade, and I won't have it until June. Otherwise I would have had to wait until next year, which might mean never. So I have to remember to do that.

I'm giving blood for the first time since my ill-fated attempt in high school. I am very proud of myself. I felt sort of obligated, since I am the one in charge of the blood drive (really the kids are doing it all, but I am the advisor). I hope I don't faint.

I've got to start exercising. I really need to. I haven't gained any weight, but I want to feel better about myself.

I never know how to end my entries. So, bye.

previous - next