current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-04-29 - 10:50 p.m.

The other day we were talking about sophomores and how they sort of have a sophomore curse, because they are right inbetween all of the action. I ended up telling them about how my sophomore year was the worst year of my life and why. Somehow I felt really embarrassing revealing that, even though I have told other kids about it. I think this was the first time the kids really wanted to get into depth about why. I do think it is important to share more stories with the kids, because I really don't very much. I think part of it is because I had been so hypersensitive about trying to maintain-the-facade-that-I'm-actually-teaching that I was worried about ever wasting class time on something like that. I'm not saying that I don't teach or anything, but I was so paranoid that every single second had to be taken up and about how-would-it-look-if-someone-walked-in-right-now? Anyway, I am starting to finally realize that sometimes it would just look really bad if someone walked in, but that they would have to know that that happens sometimes. No one ever walks in anyway, so I don't know why I am so paranoid. Most of the time the kids are on task and productive anyway.

I just read this line from one of their stories where they had to make up a character and write a story about them. Well this kid is writing a story about a 37 year old who is participating in the X-games. Is that the most bizarre thing you have ever heard of? Where do they come up with this stuff? I don't think I have ever used the phrase, "Write what you know," in class, so there you go. I am looking forward to reading that one, actually.

I got a brief email from one of my professors from back in my teaching program. She asked me to tell her how I was doing--it was really nice to hear from her. It feels good to be able to tell someone that you are still in the profession and that you are doing reasonably well as a teacher.

I feel awful because I didn't realize it was secretary's day last week and I totally missed it. I am going to have to do something to make up for it. I didn't hear that anywhere.

American Idol was so good tonight! I thought everyone did a great job except for Josh, who I can't stand. I didn't really like his Simon slams, either. It was just really annoying. Last week it was funny but this week is was sort of too much. Anyway, I really loved Trenyce this week. I thought that she was the best that she has been, and I have always really liked her. She seems like the most underrated. I think she is better than Tamyra was last year. She has a great voice, she has great stage presence, and she can sing both fast songs and slow songs well. I am rooting for her to be in the top three, but I'm not sure. All I know is that Josh better get voted off tomorrow. I wanted to vote for Trenyce but I couldn't remember her number. I also love Reuben and Clay, and I thought Kim Locke did well tonight, especially on her second song. I thought that the songs were really good overall. It was also very refreshing not to have Carmen there this week. It amazes me that she was in the top six.

I will admit it--I watched Mr. Personality both weeks. I think I may have said this before, but I actually kind of like Monica Lewinsky. I think she is really pretty and vulnerable and sort of insane. Anyway, I am still mad that they had that Hayley girl do the show. It totally should have been Monica who had the men competing for her. That would have been compelling television. I still can't get over the masks, either. I definitely would not want to make out with some guy in a mask. Hayley especially annoys me when she says goodbye to the people that she eliminates. She always has this big smile like she feels all affectionate and sad for them now that she has seen what they really look like. It weirds me out. I also thought it was really funny last night when Monica got all pissed at that slutty lawyer guy when he did things out of order and broke the rules. Monica was all, "Excuse me, there are rules and regulations." Then she told the other guys that didn't break the rules that they were not wimps like slutty lawyer guy. That guy was straight up dirty looking, too.

I think I finally reached my slump point today. I haven't actually computed how many school days we have left, but I was feeling the urge. No one did anything to piss me off, either, I just felt tired of it all of a sudden. This too shall pass...

I meant to post this a while ago. This is the funniest email ever in life:

Hey Ms. Boombastic,

J. Timberlake cracked me up the other day. He participated in Nickelodeon's Kid's Choice Awards' Burping Contest against the likes of his ex-girlfriend Britney Spears, who took a swig of Pepsi (what else?)beforehand to get things going. But Justin walloped them all with a belch that shook the rafters, and he was awarded "Best Burp" and even got a chance to give an acceptance speech. Here's what he had to say:

"Thank you, and all I gotsta say is, you're lucky it wasn't a farting contest, cause I'da won that too!"

That email was courtesy of Shaun. The worst thing about this was that I started overanalyzing the whole thing, too. Like I started thinking about Justin and Britney back when they were going out, and whether they farted in front of each other. I believe they probably did, because Britney seems like one of those cute but just-doesn't-care types. Mark, Elizabeth, Justin and I have all had conversations about that subject before. Mark and Elizabeth have, I guess, reached a point where they do that in front of each other. I am not saying it has never happened, but I tend to think that is disgusting and should be kept to oneself. I also don't like talking about that, or other bodily functions. Maybe I am just an uptight prude, but that's how I am. Justin tends to get up and walk into another room, which I think is the polite thing to do. But anyway, yeah, Justin Timberlake was talking about farting! HA HA HA HA.

Oh great, I forgot to pack my lunch.

previous - next