current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2003-04-28 - 12:20 a.m.

I had an extremely relaxing weekend that included throwing Jenga blocks at Mark. These weren't just any Jenga blocks, they were fake Jenga blocks. Fun was had by all.

I am behind on everything, as usual, because that is the story of my life. I don't really care, though. There's something like seven weeks left of this school year. I'll do the best that I can and then it will be over. Next year will be even better. Maybe somewhere along the line I will actually start to feel like I am teaching someone something, right?

I have grade printouts ready for two classes, when I really wanted to at least have them for four classes. I worked about six hours on grading and planning today, but apparently that is not enough to get everything done. Apparently that is not enough to get even close.

I really am in a pretty good mood. I had such a fun time this weekend just hanging out, playing video games, and not feeling guilty for not doing any work.

I want a Dolly Parton CD so badly. I know it sounds sort of strange, but I really love her music. I downloaded some of her songs and made a country mix CD, and I can't get enough of it. I also think I wouldn't mind having a Leanne Rimes CD. I don't know what is happening. I have actually been listening to the Digital TV country station sometimes. I feel like I am becoming something which I previously abhored.

I finally finished Strip City by Lily Burana. I am now reading Thumbsucker by Walter Kirn. I really enjoyed Strip City, although at times I felt like she was using big words to try to emphasize that she wasn't just some dumb stripper. So far I am finding Thumbsucker very readable but not particularly good. I was also sad to see that the protagonist gave up thumbsucking early on in the novel. That was the whole reason I bought the stupid book!

I don't know if I ever mentioned it, but I sucked my thumb until I was nine years old (in public, no less). I really identify with being a thumbsucker. I always sucked my left thumb, never my right. There is no better taste in the world, but unfortunately once you stop thumbsucking your thumb goes back to being its non-soft, regular-tasting self. Believe me, I've tried.

previous - next