current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-07-28 - 1:07 a.m.

Things are pretty good. What have I been doing? I've exercised every day this week so far. My friend Mandy came up with the brilliant plan of going this morning at 7:30 since she takes her husband to the Max station. I was like, "Okay, sounds good." Except it didn't. But it actually turned out pretty well. Yesterday was so hot that we only managed to walk about forty minutes before giving up. Today we walked for an hour and a half and beat our record--we had over 11,000 steps. So that was good. She was trying to peer pressure me into running, but I gave up quickly on that idea. Running makes me feel like throwing up.

We ate at Typhoon buffet yesterday as one of our two ladies-who-lunch lunches and it was sooooo good. They had our favorite coconut/chicken/mushroom soup, panang curry, really good noodles, and a chicken and basil dish. The only problem was that they had our MOST HATED ITEM that we are going to try to complain about. It's called son-in-law eggs, and it is the most digusting thing ever. Basically they are eggs with some weird batter on the outside. And they keep having them! Every single time! People eat them, but I'm sure that they only eat one once they realize how disgusting they are. Mandy went up to some people to ask them how they liked the eggs, but they hadn't tried them yet, and then they managed to leave before she could go back and quiz them again. The appetizer was won-tons, which is not my favorite, but I usually only eat the appetizer if they have spring rolls. I am not big on fried appetizers. There have been two times in the past when they had really great appetizers--once they had satay chicken with peanut sauce, and the other time they had salad rolls. SALAD ROLLS! I ate about ten. Salad rolls are my favorite thing ever. Why won't they have them again? Probably too much work to make? Mandy also tried to get a menu, because they have different stuff every day, but I guess the chef got pissed off by the idea. So instead we have to call on the day we are going. Mandy called yesterday but the chef herself answered and they had a hard time communicating. We didn't hear "son-in-law eggs" or we might not have attended.

I went to Pastini Pastaria today with Justin. I have been wanting to try it for a little while, and I have been giving him a hard time about never wanting to try anything new. It was delicious. We got an antipasto platter that was great, and then two really good meals. The only problem is what always seems to happen to me--Justin's meal was way better than mine. Mine was really good, but his was wonderful. Luckily, we had already agreed to share both, and I made sure he didn't do a take-back on that deal. But we both had leftovers so he got to take his leftovers. His was rigatoni with butternut squash, spinach and something else. I have decided butternut squash is my new favorite vegetable. I am totally going back again and I am getting that dish. It actually wasn't very expensive, either, so I was very pleased with the restaurant. The service wasn't spectacular, but right as I was saying that, they appeared with my third Diet Coke refill, so they redeemed themselves. I judge service based on how many Diet Coke refills I can get, because I am VERY THIRSTY. I am always an excellent tipper, anyway, regardless (I am picturing you picturing me, irate about only getting one Diet Coke refill, and being like, "No, don't leave them any tip!" Don't worry.)

My cat has developed a very annoying habit to add to her ever-growing list. She has figured out how to open the screen door to the porch. No big deal, right? She can go outside and hang out on the third story porch, right? No, she has lost that privilege. She decided that she would jump on the ledge and then run up and down the roof. She even took a little trip onto the neighbor's porch. Now, if we were on the first floor, no big deal. But we are on the THIRD FLOOR. I'm afraid she will fall off the roof and die. It took me forever to coax her down, which made me miss the second half of So You Think You Can Dance?. And that's just unacceptable.

Mandy had a leash for her cat, so I guess I could try that. Somehow I think my cat will not be having it. She also let me clip all of her nails on her right paw, but then after the last one, she started freaking out (I was careful just to get the tips, but the noise scared her all of a sudden). She she won't let me trim the left paw at all. That can't feel good--half long nails, half short, but she is just not having any of my help. Right now she is clawing at the door to the computer room (I would let her in, but she will disconnect my modem).

So I wondered why on earth I had to pay a $200.00 pet deposit on an innocent cat. I realize why now. She has done the following damage to my apartment:

A.) Put many holes in the porch screen due to crawling up it like a monkey.

B.) Put many holes in the two bedroom window screens doing the same thing.

C.) Bent up two sets of mini-blinds in her quest to get to the bedroom window screens to crawl like a monkey.

D.) Torn up the corner of the rugs leading to three doorways (both bathrooms and my bedroom) trying to claw her way into the room when she has been shut out.

E.) Started to wreck my new couch and chair by using them as her new scratching post. She uses two of her three scratching posts as well, but seems to think that the furniture is a scratching post as well.

Luckily, she is the sweetest cat ever, and being able to have a fluffy friend to cuddle with makes it all worth it. But seriously. Can she be a little less destructive?

I saw Ben on Monday. He started another basketball league, which means that he has basketball in some form every night but Monday, Saturday, and Sunday. He has a game on Saturday. I don't know how we are going to see each other once I start working again, but I guess I won't worry about it now. Anyway, I felt a lot better about stuff with him on Monday, but a little paranoid again today. I didn't realize he had practice tonight, so I was all mad he didn't call me back, but then he called me at 11:30 when he got home. I was like, "Oh." Things were so great when I saw him on Monday, and I promised myself I would stop being so insane and insecure, because I realized how stupid I had been. I finally got to see his apartment, and I spent the night and everything was perfect. But then tonight I thought he wasn't going to call me and I went through the whole cycle of, "He doesn't like me anymore, and if he does we have to talk about what our expectations are, because a boyfriend is supposed to call you every day, and if he doesn't want to call me every day then that means he is not that into me, and that's not okay." Then he called and I no longer had anything to say because the whole conversation was built on that concept and so I was still sort of upset but had no reason to be anymore. I do wish he had more time to spend with me, and hopefully all of that will work itself out eventually. I think his schedule at work will change, too, so hopefully that will make it easier. I'm supposed to see him on Friday after practice, and we also will probably go to the brewery festival on Saturday, even though it is sort of a rip-off. I want to be able to spend more time with him, but I guess you have to create a balance. His ex-roommate's girlfriend was over there every single day all day, so I imagine he is a little bit wary of that. I also think I am missing him more since I have nothing to do at all, and he has work and basketball and friends. I hope that's it. But I! AM! NOT! GOING! TO! WORRY! What's the point? I get myself worked up over nothing all the time. It's exhausting.

In an effort to continue my positive thinking, I am happy for the following things:

A.) I have good leftovers to eat tomorrow for lunch.

B.) I get to see Ben on Friday.

C.) Ben gave me many compliments when he saw me, including that I have beautiful hair (despite my ill-advised highlights that I HATE and spent $95.00 for--oh wait, this is supposed to be POSITIVE).

D.) I found a new group on Rhapsody that I like called Nada Surf. There was a review in Jane. Really good group.

E.) I finally got a bike helmet, so I can ride my bike.

F.) I can sleep in as long as I want tomorrow.

previous - next