current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-10-30 - 11:22 p.m.

I just finished reading Stupid White Men by Michael Moore. I know I mentioned it before, but now that I am finished I can fully comment. This is a really good book and everyone must read it. I am seriously considering joining the Green Party. No joke. I feel enlightened. Although I didn't agree with everything in the book, or the way that he came across at times, I really feel I am a better person for reading it.

So.........Shaggy! His CD came out yesterday, and you know I took myself over to Wal-Mart and bought it. I have only listened to it a few times so I can't give you a final opinion on it. I am sad to say that so far it is not as good as his last CD. I am not loving his new hair style. I like the braids, but I don't love the afro. I did watch him on Cribs tonight. He is just so adorable that it makes me want to die. It's also one of the only times I have seen him on a semi-interview because he was never really that popular until recently. I really like his personality from what I have seen at concerts and on the brief Cribs madness tonight. I am heartbroken, though, to find out that he has two sons. I was meant to be the mother of his babies, so that was a low blow.

I'm thinking about doing a new layout soon, but I am unsure if I remember how to do HTML. I might experiment with some of the new Shaggy pictures I got and see if anything is cute. I just love this layout, but I got a few comments that it is hard to read. I noticed that on a laptop it is pretty hard to read. I don't know. I like the muted tones. HA HA.

My job is good and the kids are good. I think part of that was because I was showing a movie yesterday and the day before. I am so behind on grading it is not even funny. This always happens when the quarter ends and I am holding off on entering new stuff because I am waiting to enter the old grades and all of that. I'm not sure how to do this more effectively. Anyway, at least I am almost caught up with some, and I have another three day weekend due to budget cuts.

There is this one girl who is super rude to me, but talking in the teacher's lounge I realized that she is super rude to everyone. So I felt a bit better. I am not going to allow her to be rude to me, though. If she makes any more outright comments I am going to do something about it. I just don't see any excuse for that.

I found these really cool lesson plans on the New York Times webpage. I am going to use one sometime soon. There were three or four that I really liked. They provide the article and everything, and they are pretty detailed in a way that I could actually teach. I'm excited because I want to incorporate more current issues into my classroom. If we are talking and thinking about things that are relevant, maybe it will show up in their writing. That's what I'm hoping. I mean that it will improve their writing if they are writing about things that are relevant to their lives. Of course, they might not feel that the issues are relevant. But many are about teenagers, so maybe they will.

There are a couple of ballot measures going on in Oregon right now that I'm unsure about. I just left them blank, but I feel bad about it. The first was this universal health plan for Oregon that sounded really cool. I believe in a national health plan, but this sounded like a good start. However, the Oregon Education Association recommended voting no on it because educational funding is such a mess right now and that would take away money from our schools. There were a ton of people that I agree with that endorsed the plan. I couldn't bring myself to a decision, and it's probably the most important measure on there. I feel like such a jerk. Then there was another important one about food labeling. If it passes, they will be required to label all food if it has been genetically engineered in any way. Well, that sounds good to me. But there are also a lot of good arguments against it. Again, I didn't know what to do. I just read on the Green Party webpage that they supported those both, but they also don't want people to vote yes on banning petitioners to be paid per signature. I don't agree with that stance.

I wrote to my congresswoman about how our health plan (Blue Cross and Blue Shield) doesn't cover birth control, but it does cover giving birth to a child or an abortion. It doesn't even cover birth control for those who are prescribed it by a doctor because of extra painful menstrual cramps. As everyone knows, the pill helps regulate your cycle and makes your cramps less painful. But no, that's fine. I have to pay $30.00 per month out of my own pocket besides the $55.00 out of pocket I pay for my crappy insurance plan that doesn't cover my main medical expense. She actually wrote back, but I threw out the letter. I'm thinking about writing her again about something I found out in Michael Moore's book. She was on a list of being one of those that voted with Republicans 30% of the time against liberal issues. I'm curious what those issues were that she sided with the Republicans on. I feel like I need to open up my eyes to what is going on around me. I was so out of it I didn't even hear about the sniper(s) until days into it.

I have to say, one of my favorite things about Ben from Felicity is when he says something that comes up once in a while on the show. Tonight he told Noel, "You don't have to be such a dick about it!" For some reason I just love it when he calls someone else a dick. It just makes me feel like it is real life, because no one else on any TV show ever calls anyone else a dick (maybe NYPD Blue?) I LOVE BEN SO MUCH! I am totally back on my Felicity should be with Ben side with these reruns. Tonight Noel said the harshest, most awful thing to Felicity about how he hopes he never sees her again. It almost made me cry, that's how mean he was. THIS SHOW IS SO GOOD!

I really should be in bed, but since tomorrow is my Friday it is really hard. I also have to make sure to get there early enough to make copies because I have quite a few to make and mornings at the copy machine are my worst nightmare. I always usually do it after school but I had to go to the post office to send my mom her b-day gift.

We have the slowest copy machine in the entire world. I am serious, you have never seen a copier like this. Every time I use it I sit there and think of how much this copy machine is taking away from kids' education. First of all, I waste thirty minutes making about 90 copies (stapled packets). I have literally watched the clock. This is time I could be spending planning. Second, I avoid making copies because of the slowness, so it takes away from the kids' education because they may not get certain things because it takes too damn long. Instead, they get me summarizing the information briefly. To conclude my paragraph on why we have the slowest copier in the world, I would like to say that I hope you enjoyed reading my paragraph and hopefully you understood (most of) the points I was trying to make about the copier.

HA HA, that was an inside joke to myself in response to my students and their lousy conclusions. We really need to work on those this year.

Speaking of unbelievable, take a look at this outrageous article. I first heard about this while I was in Florida reading their local paper this summer. Can you believe that? It really freaked me out.

Well, I had really better get to bed now! Goodnight, and I promise a less outraged outlook the next time around. :)

previous - next