current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-03-23 - 12:04 p.m.

I'm looking forward to the rest of the week. I got my tetanus shot at the doctor, since you are supposed to have it every ten years, and I'm three years overdue. I don't know if my insurance covers it, but it was $31, so it was okay. I liked my new doctor, so I guess I will stick with this place. She was very thorough and asked me tons of questions and took her time, even though she was running behind. I found out once again that my punk insurance doesn't cover yet another thing. The doctor thought I should get screening for cholesterol, just as a precaution since I am 26 now. Well, my insurance doesn't cover it because it is preventative. It would cover it if I had high blood pressure and my doctor thought that I should get screened that way. Anyway, I hate my insurance. It seems that it is a myth that teachers have great insurance benefits. I did sign up for the cheapest plan, but it costs the district something like $700.00 a month, and me $60.00 a month, and it apparently covers NOTHING (not even a routine physical). I guess when I am married with a family I will try the more expensive insurance, but I really can't afford to pay that much for insurance when I go to the doctor one or two times a year. The dental coverage was almost $100.00 a month for me, so I didn't get it at all.

Our country needs a national health care plan because I am one of the lucky people who actually has insurance. It is just ridiculous. I just get so angry about how our country is run sometimes.

I have a huge stack of papers to grade, so maybe I should actually attempt to work on that today. My arm really hurts because of my shot, so I am trying to use it as an excuse not to exercise.

I was pretty good about saving money last month for my Europe trip. I usually always save at least $200.00 a month, but I saved an extra $300.00 like I planned. I also had some sort of math error on my Oregon tax returns. Instead of getting $167.00 like I thought, they gave me $315.00 instead. I am glad that they caught my mistake! I felt sort of stupid about making such a huge mistake, but at least it was in my favor.

I'd better go and do something productive now. Blah.

previous - next