current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-08-25 - 10:32 p.m.

Warning: This isn't my best or most coherent entry.

I'm in a bad mood because somehow Justin managed to break the dial on my dryer last time he was over and did laundry. I can't get it to work, so I can't do laundry. It just does the beeping noise that it does when the dryer is done. Of course I discovered this after I did a full load of laundry in the washer. I worked on trying to get the dial back on and working again but I am inept. That's okay, I thought, because Justin was supposed to possibly come over tonight and usually he fixes these things.

Well, he's been camping all weekend and was supposed to come back today. Well, I called his parents house to find out where he was, and his dad said that his family decided to stay until Wednesday. He knows that I start work on Wednesday, but I guess it doesn't matter to him that I get to spend my last few days off COMPLETELY ALONE. I don't know what to do about the dryer, either. I am pissed off.

I guess maybe they were having a great time and didn't want to come back, but who wants to spend Friday to Wednesday camping with their family? GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

I had all these plans that tomorrow when he was here I would make lasagna, salad and garlic bread. That's my very favorite meal, but lasagna for one--what's the point? I'm glad I didn't buy the ingredients today. I just feel so sad about not getting to see him at all before school starts.

I'm starting to panic about school starting. I'm not ready. It's hard to ever be ready for the first few weeks of school because you don't know the kids yet, so you can't picture how your lessons are going to go. Once they are there, you can think it all out, "Well, that's not going to work with first period because they sit there like bumps on a log, so I will have to have them do partners for this section of the lesson..." That kind of thing. I don't like the first few weeks of school very much because everyone is so unnaturally quiet. There's also the problem with the kids who hate you at first. Blah. I don't want to do this. Also, there are not two new English teachers this year and I didn't get to choose them. One of the others decided not to retire yet and then this other school shut down, so we got the teacher from there. So.

I feel like I'm being a bit incoherent right now.

I met all of my family members except my youngest brother, and it was great, but awkward. I just realized I need to come up with names for all of them now. :) I met the majority on Sunday, including my step mother. My step mother wrote me the kindest, most wonderful email before we met. I really like her a lot. We ended up having a picnic, which was nice. I met the 20 year old, the 16 year old, and the 11 year old. I liked them all, too, and I feel like I share some characteristics with each of them. The 20 year old looks a lot like me, and we are the exact height, shoe size and body type. I actually think she is much more beautiful than I am, and she has gorgeous long eyelashes. She seems very sweet. The 16 year old also seems very sweet, and very mature, and he also has the gorgeous long eyelashes. The 11 year old is funny and smart and loves to read. I'm still trying to digest it all, but I think this is going to be good.

I drove down this weekend to visit my 22 year old brother. It was a five hour drive, so I stayed overnight. His roommates weren't there so that worked out. I had such a blast hanging out with him because he was just like he was on the phone. He had me laughing the entire time, and he also talks a lot so there were never any lulls in the conversation. I was totally at ease with him and I just thought he was awesome in general. He's one of those people that seems to know everyone and is liked by everyone. He got hooked up with a free shot at one place we went, and at another one we got free beverages. I also met his hilarious friend who loves books on tape. Apparently he deliberately tries to find excuses to drive around so that he can listen to his books. I also found out that Matt Damon has done a reading of The People's History of the United States. Don't you find that odd? I wonder why Howard Zinn didn't read it himself--he's still alive! Very interesting.

Anyway, I think both of my brothers will be coming to visit me some weekend in September. I am really excited about getting to know them better, and hanging out with them. I still can't get over this whole thing.

The only thing productive I've done today is put some of the Hawaii pictures into frames, and clean out my fridge. There is NOTHING left in my fridge now except for some sauces and salad dressings, condiments, diet pepsi, and bottled water. It is in a sad state, but at least it is clean. I even washed the shelves, which was much needed as something sticky had spilled in there about six months ago.

I wish I had something interesting to say, but I don't.

previous - next