current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-12-29 - 12:26 a.m.

Things have been awfully busy for being on vacation. But it has been pretty fun. Monday crazycousin called and said she and her new husband wanted to drop by (without the four children, thank God). They left the kids with her parents for the week so they can have some alone time. I hadn't talked to her since her one day honeymoon, so it had been a few months. It was good to see her and catch up. I am working on being less negative in general. I have to say, I'm happy that she is happy.

After that, I ended up going to Target to return some PJs and silverware (I asked for both). I wasn't sure about the PJs because the pants fit a little funny. I ended up getting some pink silky PJs that Chad made fun of. He was like, "I thought you were going to get some flannel PJs or something, and instead it looks like you are sleeping at the Hilton!" The funny thing is that I stayed at Hilton Las Vegas two times, and the Hilton is not at all high class. But anyway, he thought my PJs were funny, but I like them. I feel luxurious in my Target PJs. The silverware didn't work out because it wasn't the set I wanted, but they didn't have the kind I wanted, so I just got a cat brush and toy. She doesn't like the toy, unfortunately. It talks and moves if you touch it (it's a mouse). She could not be less impressed with it, and won't touch it. Oh well. I touched it a bunch of times, but she was not having it. She seems to like to be brushed. I didn't realize you were supposed to do that with short haired cats. I have really been thinking of getting another cat to keep her company, but I'm not sure how she would like that.

Tuesday my friend April from high school came into town. We went to dinner and then went to the high school reunion. It was so great seeing April. I hadn't seen her in about four years. She has a fiancee now, and he was so cool. He was totally nice, kind, easy to talk to, cute, and attentive. You can tell they adore each other. I am so happy for her, and am actually not resentful and jealous like I usually am. She totally deserves it (she's had a really rough life--she immigrated here from Poland when she was younger, her parents were abusive, she ran away and was homeless for awhile in high school, she was in foster care, then she went into the Navy). Anyway, it was nice having someone to go to the reunion with. The reunion ended up being even weirder than I thought it would be. It was at a bar, so it was a very weird atmosphere. I saw an old friend who had gotten together with someone I went to middle school with--that was very weird because it was someone I was very close with in high school and tried to stay friends with, but it seemed like she purposely lost touch with me. She was still friends with this girl who she was friends with in high school that I didn't like very much. The reason I didn't like her was that she didn't like me, maybe because she was competing for my friend's friendship. Anyway, when I saw my old friend she called me over, and I was talking to her and her boyfriend about what they were up to. I then tried to talk to the girl I didn't like much about what she had been up to and she was totally bitchy to me. After ten years you can't be friendly? I didn't even ever do anything to her. HOW HIGH SCHOOL! So, despite my vow to avoid negativity, I will say that she looked exactly the same except...FATTER. HA HA! Anyway, talking to my old friend also made me realize how fake she could be. Which made me sad.

The other old friend I was hoping to see didn't show up, just like I thought. I did talk to his friend, who said he is working as an artist and is moving to Idaho. Then Lucia did end up coming, so April, Lucia and I spent a lot of time catching up.

Finally, let me get to my interaction with the ex boyfriend I was looking forward to seeing. I hadn't seen him in ten years, and he was someone who I basically thought I would never see or interact with again. He treated me horribly, but like I said in the last entry I made my peace with him about five or six years ago (by phone). Anyway, it looked to me like he wasn't going to show up, and then I stood up and saw him across the room. I wasn't sure if it was him at first and so I guess I made a face at him and he came over and asked me why I gave him an evil look. I had emailed him to see if he was going, but it was really short, and he had emailed back a pretty friendly email that said he was probably going to come, partly because he had bad news to tell me about a mutual friend. Anyway, we hugged awkwardly and then he told me what I was afraid of--another ex boyfriend of mine, someone who I really cared about a lot, but hadn't talked to in years, died in his sleep. I guess he had a heart condition that he didn't know about. It's really sad because he was a sweet person and he was also his parents' only child (he was also adopted). So that makes me even sadder. He also had a little boy. Ugh. Anyway, it was so weird interacting with my ex boyfriend. He told me he was married with two kids, but he said right away that they had been having a rough time. He wanted me to come with him while he got some coffee from the bar, and he told me that he had given up drinking a few years ago. I had so many mixed feelings, because I was sort of detached from the situation, but at the same time I had some old feelings come up. He was always someone I was really attracted to, so I had that feeling, but at the same time I felt sort of repulsed by him. Because immediately he started having the reaction I was hoping for--he was totally flirty and kept complimenting me on how good I looked and saying he regretted how he treated me. We talked for awhile, and he brought up some stuff that I totally forgot about that cracked me up. I guess before we made peace he had called me and I went off on him and said all this stuff that basically implied he was bad in bed. He still remembers that after ten years and it cracked me up. Anyway, I totally forgot about all that, but I liked knowing that I got to him. Well, he wanted me to talk to him before I left so I went and hung out with my friends again. He came up and talked to me again for awhile and continued to sort of fawn over me. He said he wanted to get my number before I left (for what, he's married, and like that would ever happen again). We talked again one more time and he hugged me about five times and told me how good it was to see me. It definitely felt good to have that attention from him and feel like I was the one in power for once, but that's over with. I don't need anything else from him. The whole thing was very surreal. He looked exactly the same.

Most people that remembered me said that I looked the same as in high school, so that was nice. Just about everyone looked the same, although some people were fatter or balder. It was fun though. There is supposed to be another reunion that is more traditional, but I am not sure if I will go. I kind of feel like I saw the people I wanted to see (except one crush, but nothing would ever happen with that anyway, he was way too good looking).

So last night I came home from the reunion and I called Chad. He works nights so I can call him as late as I want. We were talking until almost 5 AM, so he somehow convinced me to come over when he got off work (6:30 AM) and sleep with him. So I ended up going over there and having the best time with him. He was just being so affectionate and lovey-dovey. He's always like that, but he was just extra affectionate. We ate breakfast and then we slept until about 4 PM. Then we had Thai food and watched Felicity. We're on season 3 now. Anyway, I just had the best time with him today. I almost always have a good time but today was just perfect.

In any case, tomorrow I will go and see my family. I haven't seen them forever so it will be nice.

previous - next