current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2002-07-24 - 10:05 p.m.

Wow.

First off, I have to say that I am outraged by the fact that AJ got voted off of American Idol tonight instead of Ryan Starr. Last night was the first time I got to hear Ms. Starr sing, and I was thankful that somehow I managed to miss all of her other performances. I totally agreed with Simon, she was DREADFUL! I also can't stand all of her weird nose twitching and faces. What is up with that girl, I feel like she is high. My beloved AJ is gone and she gets to stay? Believe me, I know that AJ is not the best singer on the show. I knew he would get voted off, and he doesn't deserve to win the whole thing. However, I think he is getting it way harsher than he deserves. He's adorable, his voice sounds EXACTLY like he should be in a boyband, and reminds me of Mr. Timberlake himself. He could be a star. Ryan Starr will never be a star and needs to be the next member voted off. I will keep my fingers crossed for next week. After that, I want Nikki to be voted off. I have never cared for her, and I didn't think she did the Janis Joplin song justice. I do agree with the others. I think RJ is a really good singer, although I do not like the way he looks at all. Justin is getting way too cocky. The only one that surprised me last night was Kelly. I didn't much care for her, but I thought she did a great job last night (other than that one squeaky high note-- that scared me). I'm not even sure who I want to win now. I think Justin will win, but I really like Christina and RJ. Tamyra is good, but I don't know that I like her as a person.

Don't ask me why I haven't been online in so long. I got back home a few days ago and didn't even have the urge to be on the Internet. Florida was fun, but I should have taken pictures. I didn't take any! What was I thinking? It was unbelievably hot, though. With humidity, the heat index was 107! Ugh. I am not used to that kind of weather and I was dying being outside in lines all day. I did enjoy the parks, though. We ended up going to Magic Kingdom, Universal Studios, and Universal Studios Islands of Adventure.

I was most disappointed by Universal Studios. I thought it would be more entertaining since it's all about movies. There were some cool parts, but I thought it would be a lot more information about the behind the scenes stuff. The rides also weren't that much fun. I did enjoy some, though, like Terminator 2 and Jaws.

I absolutely loved Magic Kingdom, because it is just like Disneyland. I thought it was on an equal level, except for the haunted mansion was not as pretty. The ride was still fun. My favorite things were Aliens Attack, Rocky Mountain Railroad, and Splash Mountain. The nice thing was that the lines were not that bad, and all of the parks have something called fast past or express so you can sign up for a time and come back later to get on the ride. The highlight was that Space Mountain said it would be 50 minutes, but it only took 15 minutes in line.

My favorite park was the Islands of Adventure. This is one that I wish we had more time at (we got pretty worn out and left the parks every day by 4-5). My favorite ride there was Spiderman. This was the best ride ever. It combined moving in a ride with 3-D and it was so much fun. Other rides that combined 3-D and moving paled in comparison. If you go, you must go on this ride. I also enjoyed the roller coasters that went upside down. My mom even wanted to go on the one that drops you straight down, but I was not going to go on that one. That's the only kind I refuse to go on. I would say my second favorite ride was this river raft one. It was a circular raft where you sat in a seat and you took your shoes and stuff and put it in this waterproof compartment. Then we went down rapids and got soaking wet. It was so much fun.

On the fourth day we decided not to go to any parks, and instead went to the beach. It was the best thing ever. Anyone who lives on the West Coast knows what the ocean is like here--freezing! I have never been to a beach where there is warm water that you can swim in. This water was so warm and there weren't very many waves, so you could actually go in and get wet. It was so nice. I loved it, and would have been happy going to the beach every day. If I ever go back to Florida, that's what I plan to do.

I really miss my mom now that I'm all the way back home, especially knowing that I won't see her until Christmas. It was really great spending time with her, though.

Justin was so excited to see me when I came home. I have only spent a few days with him, because I had to come home to get my car fixed and I have a dentist appointment as well. But I'll see him again tomorrow. Absence definitely does make the heart grow fonder; I was so sad without him.

You wouldn't believe it, but I cooked a chicken all by myself yesterday! As many people know, I'm a complete disaster in the kitchen. I have never cooked a chicken in my life. It was really disgusting pulling the stuff out of the "cavity" of the chicken, but I managed to do it. Then I followed the recipe in this book and made an entire chicken. It was delicious! I can't believe that it turned out so good, since usually I have such an awful time with cooking. This gave me so much confidence that I'm going to try to make a cheesecake recipe from the same book. I've never made a cheesecake, but if I'm successful I will be the queen of the culinary world. Also, because I made that chicken from one of my new cookbooks, I am now allowed to order another cookbook from my cookbook club. I told myself I had to make something before I ordered anymore, and now I have! Go me.

I am so looking forward to my Hawaiian Vacation now. I wore a swimming suit in Florida and realized that no one will notice how fat I am when they are blinded by the paleness of my skin! I love this new positive body image stuff. :)

I realized I have to get my spending under control. Right after I figured out my budget, I felt the need to spend $95 dollars in groceries. While food is a good thing, I usually spend all my money on useless stuff. I really need to figure out a way to budget my money without feeling deprived. I think it all stems from growing up poor. Now that I'm not poor, I constantly want to buy things. It's not like I was hugely deprived as a child, but we were pretty poor at various times. We were never lights-getting-turned-off poor, but we were foodstamps-are-late-we're-going-to-the-church-to-get-some-food poor. That only happened once, thank God. I still remember one of the things they gave us, too: doughnut holes. Those were really good.

The weirdest thing was that I never even really realized that being on welfare or being poor was something to be ashamed of until we moved to another state. The kids there would make fun of each other by saying stuff about food stamps, or by saying that they got their clothes at JJ Giveaway. How awful. I just hoped that no one would say anything like that to me, and I tried to imagine a good comeback in case they did. No one ever did. I do remember someone making fun of my hightop converse all-stars. I had a red pair and a yellow pair. Sometimes I can't believe my mom let me dress the way she did. I am so embarrassed for myself.

Actually, I distinctly remember every pair of shoes I've ever owned, and I can't believe some of the fashion choices I made in the past. For example, remember those white reeboks that women wore for aeorobics in the late eighties? I had a pair, but they were red. I also had these Mickey Mouse brand zebra striped black and white tennis shoes. This was in the SIXTH GRADE, not in kindergarten. What was I thinking? But it gets even worse. In seventh grade I had high top LA Gears. In eighth grade though, I committed the worst fashion faux pas you can imagine. I had the PAULA ABDUL, two-tongue, high top, white and ORANGE reeboks. No one else had these, I was just on the cutting edge. HA HA.

Speaking of which, I just have to say that my favorite Paula Abdul song of all time is "Rush, Rush." Nothing would make me happier than to see the video with Keanu Reeves (back in the days when I thought he was a hottie) again. That video is the best.

Well I'm hoping that I won't be gone again so long again (except, of course, when I am in Hawaii). I missed writing.

previous - next