current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2005-03-17 - 4:45 p.m.

Okay, I just need to share a quick "I love teaching" story, because I haven't had enough of these lately. I read aloud to the kids for ten minutes at the beginning of class each day. Today was the day that we finished the book, so I went a little longer than normal. Anyway, the story is about these two friends who are like brothers (they live together, too), and the main character has a girlfriend with a little brother. What happens is that the little brother ends up having a bad trip on acid and might not ever be the same(this book is set in the seventies). Then the main character comes home and finds out that his best friend is a drug dealer. In his state of being upset about what happened to the brother, he immediately calls the cops and his best friend is arrested and carted off to jail. Well...I'm reading this to the kids and I'm doing my best to make it as shocking as it was when I read it the first time. I stopped reading after that part to give the kids a chance to react and someone says, "Leslie's crying!" We all looked over in shock at Leslie, and I said, "What's wrong?!" thinking that she must be crying about something else. She said, "It's just so sad that he did that to his friend!" We were all so relieved that we started laughing. It was just so cute and everyone was teasing her, but I was like...that's what teaching is all about. A book we're reading made a kid cry. :) It made my day, week, month, year...


And to top everything off, almost every single kid has written in their response journals that they liked the book and that I should definitely teach it again next year (this was the first time I read it with kids). I wasn't even sure if they were into it or not until today. Yay!


I'm going to see The Decemberists with Ava tonight. I'm really looking forward to it, but I'm going to be dead tired tomorrow at school. Oh well. Spring Break starts soon.


I talked to Jose yesterday for about two hours. It is so weird to me that he basically loves talking to me and hanging out with me even now, but he just wants to be my friend. I had no idea I was such an awesome friend. Ugh. He's interested in another girl, which is part of the whole mess, but I don't know if I can/should be his friend. I guess I'm just still deciding. The only reason we talked so soon was because he called me the night before "accidentally" while I was sleeping. So I was calling him back. Of course I was hoping that that call was going to be a grand romantic gesture. You know, the one everyone hopes for--I realized that I made a mistake, I love you, you're everything I want and need. No. It was an accident. But anyway, I do think he's sincere in wanting to be friends. It's just a matter of me deciding what I can handle and whether or not him coming into my life has served its purpose, or if he was meant to be a friend, too. I'm just afraid that if I decide to stay friends with him that I am doing it for the wrong reasons...and I realize more and more that he is NOT the right one for me. Ugh. I really do feel basically okay about the situation, though, so I guess I didn't like him THAT much. It still hurts though.


Life goes on.

previous - next