current

archives

profile

cast

disclaimer

notes

guestbook

guestbook #2

booklist

concert list

rings

regulators

host

credits

2004-05-09 - 7:58 p.m.

Wow, fourteen days since I last wrote? Hmmm.

There are five weeks until school gets out. Not that I'm counting down days or anything. I am so excited for my trip this summer, but also so nervous about things like traveling around and about what to pack. We are going to be staying at a ton of different places, so I know I have to pack light. The problem is that I am not a light packer. I am a high maintenance female with way too many products. I also am not a big fan of wearing the same thing over and over, and I am very picky about shoes. I hate having shoes that don't match my outfit. I obviously have to get over these phobias quick. I am not taking my hair dryer even though my hair looks horrible without it. I also have been commanded to buy a pair of hiking boots, which is really my worst nightmare because hiking boots are probably the ugliest shoes known to humankind (with the exception of those high heeled flip flops, particularly the white ones). I also hate to hike.

Elizabeth has this whole theory that she is going to go without a bra and wear camisoles the whole time she is in Europe. I am not sure why she decided on this, but she wanted me to do it, too. I gave her a big fat no to that idea. My bras are what make my breasts; without a bra I basically have no breasts! She is one of those people who have perfect breasts but says her goal is to get down to an A cup. She can't mean that. Can she?

I am seriously considering trying ediets.com. They tell me that they can help me lose ten pounds by June 11th. "That would be perfect, thank you!" is what I said to that idea. Should I do it? Based on my profile they say that I should eat 1300-1500 calories per day, but I probably have to exercise too. If I am going to do it I definitely need to get started immediately. I just feel so flabby and disgusting. I don't even care if I look good in a bathing suit, I just want to look good in my normal clothes and not feel like my jeans are cutting off my circulation.

We went to see Mean Girls and I really didn't like it that much. I really loved 13 Going on 30 much more. Oh well.

I am not really sure what I want to do for the next five weeks. The kids are giving speeches, but then I am wavering between two different options for the last part of school. We also have a few field trips coming up, and since we are on a block schedule five weeks is a lot shorter than it sounds. So...I want to end the year with something interesting and fun, but not too non-traditional.

I'm feeling better and better about things at school as the year continues. We will have some changes with our team next year, but they seem like they will be good changes overall. I feel like we have come together as a team, and I feel appreciated and valued by the other team members. It's nice to feel that way. I feel like I am a good teacher, and that that is taken as a given by the people around me. I also feel like I am surrounded by good teachers, which makes me feel better about going to work every day.

I'm completely addicted to this crazy videogame called Zuma. I usually don't get into videogames that much, but this one is just easy enough for me that it is fun. I need to stop playing it and grade some papers! UGH!

I am really pleased by the latest paper the kids wrote. It is a creative writing paper and they really went above and beyond the requirements. I have only graded two so far, but both were so much longer than I expected or asked for, and they were such interesting stories! Looking at the rest of the stack, many of the other kids went way beyond the length requirement, too.

I'm starting to think that I need to go to the doctor about my stomach problems. Pretty much anything I eat makes my stomach hurt, and it's not a whole lot of fun to eat when that is the case.

Mother's day was good. I took my mom out to dinner and I gave her a CD she wanted (of the guy we saw in concert together recently). I also am buying her a DVD she wants that comes out on Tuesday. The food was soooooo good. We went ot this Italian restaurant, and I got the same thing I always get there: manicotti. My favorite thing about it is the bites of pure melted cheese. I forced myself to only eat half of it so my stomach wouldn't rebel against me, but it was hard.
,br> Okay, I am going to go play the Zuma game ONE MORE TIME. I need to have some self-restraint.

previous - next